Find out more about our subscriptions

Jamie Whincup gets back on top in dry race two qualifying at Sandown

Jamie Whincup, Triple Eight Holden, Sandown 2011Jamie Whincup got his V8 Supercars title bid back on course by taking pole position for race two at Sandown.

Yesterday's wet race had seen Whincup lose ground to title rival and Triple Eight Holden team-mate Craig Lowndes as he slipped to 13th in the tricky conditions while Lowndes surged through from the back row of the grid to finish sixth.

But in dry conditions this morning, Whincup knocked Garry Rogers Holden driver Lee Holdsworth off the top spot with two minutes to go with a 1m09.6789s lap, having seen earlier pole shots go awry with quick trips off the road.

Lowndes took fourth, with Holdsworth dropping to third in the final order as Ford Performance Racing's Mark Winterbottom grabbed the outside front row spot.

Shane van Gisbergen (Stone Brothers Ford) and Will Davison (FPR) completed the top six.

Yesterday's poleman and race winner Rick Kelly's Kelly Racing Holden was only 15th on the grid today, with fellow race one podium finishers James Courtney (HRT Holden) and Todd Kelly (Kelly) just ahead in 12th and 13th.

Pos  Driver               Team/Car             Time        Gap
 1.  Jamie Whincup        Triple 8 Holden      1m09.6789s
 2.  Mark Winterbottom    FPR Ford             1m09.7763s  + 0.0974s
 3.  Lee Holdsworth       Garry Rogers Holden  1m09.8377s  + 0.1588s
 4.  Craig Lowndes        Triple 8 Holden      1m09.9141s  + 0.2352s
 5.  Shane van Gisbergen  Stone Brothers Ford  1m09.9600s  + 0.2811s
 6.  Will Davison         FPR Ford             1m09.9711s  + 0.2922s
 7.  Michael Caruso       Garry Rogers Holden  1m10.0245s  + 0.3456s
 8.  Paul Dumbrell        Rod Nash/FPR Ford    1m10.0316s  + 0.3527s
 9.  Tim Slade            Rosenberg/SBR Ford   1m10.1120s  + 0.4331s
10.  James Moffat         Dick Johnson Ford    1m10.2230s  + 0.5441s
11.  Karl Reindler        Britek Holden        1m10.2477s  + 0.5688s
12.  James Courtney       HRT Holden           1m10.2630s  + 0.5841s
13.  Todd Kelly           Kelly Holden         1m10.2823s  + 0.6034s
14.  Russell Ingall       Paul Morris Holden   1m10.3107s  + 0.6318s
15.  Rick Kelly           Kelly Holden         1m10.3211s  + 0.6422s
16.  Garth Tander         HRT Holden           1m10.3318s  + 0.6529s
17.  David Reynolds       Kelly Holden         1m10.3382s  + 0.6593s
18.  Steven Johnson       Dick Johnson Ford    1m10.3775s  + 0.6986s
19.  Tony D'Alberto       D'Alberto Ford       1m10.3816s  + 0.7027s
20.  Alex Davison         Stone Brothers Ford  1m10.3826s  + 0.7037s
21.  Jonathon Webb        Tekno Ford           1m10.4045s  + 0.7256s
22.  Fabian Coulthard     Walkinshaw Holden    1m10.4698s  + 0.7909s
23.  Greg Murphy          Kelly Holden         1m10.4982s  + 0.8193s
24.  Dean Fiore           Triple F Ford        1m10.5709s  + 0.8920s
25.  Andrew Jones         Brad Jones Holden    1m10.6248s  + 0.9459s
26.  Jason Bargwanna      Brad Jones Holden    1m10.7990s  + 1.1201s
27.  Steve Owen           Paul Morris Holden   1m11.0146s  + 1.3357s
28.  Warren Luff          Dumbrell Holden      1m11.0506s  + 1.3717s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Whincup wins and closes on title
Rick Kelly takes victory in rain
Rick Kelly on pole at wet Sandown