Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Andrew Van de Burgt
Editor in Chief
Find out more about our subscriptions

Paul Dumbrell takes pole for V8 Supercars race two at Symmons Plains

Paul Dumbrell, Rod Nash/FPR Ford, Symmons Plains 2011Paul Dumbrell grabbed pole position for the second V8 Supercars race at Symmons Plains, while championship leader Jamie Whincup qualified 12 places ahead of his title rival and Triple Eight Holden team-mate Craig Lowndes.

Whincup held pole for much of the middle of the session before the Ford Performance Racing cars of first Mark Winterbottom, then Friday practice pacesetter Dumbrell jumped ahead in the closing moments. Dumbrell was able to take the second pole of his V8 career with a 51.3062s lap, 0.0231 seconds quicker than Winterbottom.

Lowndes went off the road in the middle of the session and had to reverse out of the gravel. Once back on track the best he could manage was 15th place.

Shane van Gisbergen (Stone Brothers Ford), Will Davison (FPR) and Rick Kelly (Kelly Holden) completed the top six on the grid.

Pos  Driver               Team/Car             Time      Gap
 1.  Paul Dumbrell        Rod Nash/FPR Ford    51.3062s
 2.  Mark Winterbottom    FPR Ford             51.3293s  + 0.0231s
 3.  Jamie Whincup        Triple 8 Holden      51.3398s  + 0.0336s
 4.  Shane van Gisbergen  Stone Brothers Ford  51.3459s  + 0.0397s
 5.  Will Davison         FPR Ford             51.3573s  + 0.0511s
 6.  Rick Kelly           Kelly Holden         51.4218s  + 0.1156s
 7.  Garth Tander         HRT Holden           51.4386s  + 0.1324s
 8.  Lee Holdsworth       Garry Rogers Holden  51.4467s  + 0.1405s
 9.  Todd Kelly           Kelly Holden         51.4680s  + 0.1618s
10.  Jonathon Webb        Tekno Ford           51.4818s  + 0.1756s
11.  Fabian Coulthard     Walkinshaw Holden    51.4922s  + 0.1860s
12.  David Reynolds       Kelly Holden         51.4929s  + 0.1867s
13.  Alex Davison         Stone Brothers Ford  51.5247s  + 0.2185s
14.  James Courtney       HRT Holden           51.5472s  + 0.2410s
15.  Craig Lowndes        Triple 8 Holden      51.5491s  + 0.2429s
16.  Greg Murphy          Kelly Holden         51.5912s  + 0.2850s
17.  Tony D'Alberto       D'Alberto Ford       51.6197s  + 0.3135s
18.  Karl Reindler        Britek Holden        51.6229s  + 0.3167s
19.  Michael Caruso       Garry Rogers Holden  51.6442s  + 0.3380s
20.  James Moffat         Dick Johnson Ford    51.6959s  + 0.3897s
21.  Tim Slade            Rosenberg/SBR Ford   51.7057s  + 0.3995s
22.  Steven Johnson       Dick Johnson Ford    51.7180s  + 0.4118s
23.  Steve Owen           Paul Morris Holden   51.7260s  + 0.4198s
24.  Russell Ingall       Paul Morris Holden   51.7493s  + 0.4431s
25.  Dean Fiore           Triple F Ford        51.7935s  + 0.4873s
26.  Warren Luff          Dumbrell Holden      51.8269s  + 0.5207s
27.  Jason Bright         Brad Jones Holden    52.0066s  + 0.7004s
28.  Jason Bargwanna      Brad Jones Holden    52.0215s  + 0.7153s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Whincup gives Holden 400th victory
Whincup takes another victory
Whincup beats Fords to race one pole