Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 15 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 20, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 20 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Andrew Van de Burgt
Editor in Chief
Find out more about our subscriptions

Thierry Neuville clinches Golden Stage Rally win

Thierry Neuville, Kronos Peugeot, Cyprus 2011Thierry Neuville picked up 40,000 euros in prize money as he defeated Juho Hanninen in the Intercontinental Rally Challenge's Golden Stage season-closer.

Kronos Peugeot driver Neuville had been quickest in this morning's first half of the live televised non-points event, which sees crews make two passes through a mixed-surface stage in Cyprus, four seconds ahead of Hanninen.

With a replacement gearbox fitted to his Skoda at service after issues following the end of the first stage, Hanninen picked up his pace on the re-run.

But Neuville charged even harder and managed to outpace the S2000 World Rally champion - and 2010 IRC title-winner - by 1.2s to take overall victory by six seconds, giving him the 30,000 euro winner's prize and a further 10,000 euros for winning his class.

Jan Kopecky was a distant third in the other works Skoda. 2011 IRC champion Andreas Mikkelsen decided not to contest the event after wrapping up his title in yesterday's championship finale.

Leading finishers after SS2:

Pos  Driver                Team/Car                   Time/Gap
 1.  Thierry Neuville      Kronos/Peugeot Belux       26m02.8s
 2.  Juho Hanninen         Skoda                        + 6.0s
 3.  Jan Kopecky           Skoda                       + 32.3s
 4.  Patrik Sandell        Skoda Sweden                + 48.0s
 5.  Karl Kruuda           ME3 Skoda                 + 1m01.2s
 6.  Nicos Thomas          Thomas Mitsubishi         + 2m19.2s
 7.  Petros Panteli        Costas Petrou Mitsubishi  + 2m33.1s
 8.  Paraskevas Paraskeva  Mitsubishi (private)      + 2m41.6s
 9.  Doros Loucaides       Peugeot (private)         + 3m20.4s
10.  Marco Cavigioli       Island Mitsubishi         + 3m32.4s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Neuville leads Golden Stage