Find out more about our subscriptions

Winterbottom and Lyons triumph in final race in Surfers Paradise

Mark Winterbottom Gold CoastMark Winterbottom and Richard Lyons claimed victory in the second and final V8 Supercars race in Surfers Paradise.

Lyons started the race and was able to remain in touch with the lead Triple Eight Holdens, providing Winterbottom with the perfect platform from which to attack.

He snatched the lead less than ten laps from the end, clinching his and the FPR squad's first victory of the year, and only Ford's third of the season.

"The boys have done a fantastic job," Winterbottom said. "It was hairy, that was a lot of work. It was one of the great races and I loved it."

Winterbottom and Lyons task was made slightly easier by a safety car at around half-distance, caused by Gianni Morbidelli's spin into the wall.

That not only bunched the field up, but also allowed Winterbottom to jump Craig Lowndes in the #888 Holden, who had been running second but was forced to queue in the pits behind the lead sister car of Jamie Whincup.

Lowndes rejoined in 12th, and with the leaders fuelled to the finish was never able to get back into contention for the win.

Whincup meanwhile could not escape from Winterbottom, and on lap 94 eventually succumbed to the pressure as Winterbottom found a way through, enabling him and Lyons to claim victory.

They shared the podium with Whincup and Sebastien Bourdais, winners of the opening race, and the Garry Rodgers Holden of Lee Holdsworth and Simon Pagenaud.

Greg Murphy and Oliver Gavin finished a relatively comfortable fourth in the #11 Kelly Holden, with Rick Kelly and Jorg Bergmeister's sister Kelly Holden edging James Courtney and Darren Turner's HRT Holden in the fight for fifth.

After a strong opening stint by former World Touring Car champion Andy Priaulx, Lowndes temporarily led and was in contention for victory until his delay in the pitlane. He was able to fight his way back to ninth, but then had to pit for damage and eventually brought the #888 home in 20th.

Race 2 Results - 102 laps:

Pos  Driver                 Team/Car                   Time/Gap
 1.  Winterbottom/Lyons     FPR Ford              2h14m08.1572s
 2.  Whincup/Bourdais       Triple 8 Holden           + 1.5564s
 3.  Holdsworth/Pagenaud    Garry Rogers Holden       + 3.1042s
 4.  Murphy/Gavin           Kelly Holden              + 8.6988s
 5.  Kelly/Bergmeister      Kelly Holden             + 11.2793s
 6.  Courtney/Turner        HRT Holden               + 11.9509s
 7.  Owen/Said              Paul Morris Holden       + 13.4878s
 8.  Ingall/Magnussen       Paul Morris Holden       + 14.9391s
 9.  Kelly/Westbrook        Kelly Holden             + 15.3354s
10.  Slade/Castroneves      Rosenberg/SBR Ford       + 15.5574s
11.  Reynolds/Tagliani      Kelly Holden             + 17.0818s
12.  Johnson/Muller         Dick Johnson Ford        + 17.5720s
13.  Webb/de Ferran         Tekno Ford               + 17.6506s
14.  Davison/Salo           FPR Ford                 + 19.7038s
15.  Coulthard/Long         Walkinshaw Holden        + 21.7543s
16.  Van Gisbergen/Pirro    Stone Brothers Ford      + 27.1349s
17.  Bargwanna/Simonsen     Brad Jones Holden        + 39.0365s
18.  Davison/Lieb           Stone Brothers Ford      + 43.4389s
19.  D'Alberto/Liuzzi       D'Alberto Ford           + 43.9577s
20.  Lowndes/Priaulx        Triple 8 Holden          + 53.1137s
21.  Caruso/Farfus Jr       Garry Rogers Holden        + 3 laps
22.  Reindler/Giovanardi    Fair Dinkum Holden         + 4 laps
23.  Tander/Briscoe         HRT Holden                + 20 laps
     Moffat/Hand            Dick Johnson Ford           77 laps
     Fiore/Morbidelli       Triple F Ford               51 laps
     Bright/Sarrazin        Brad Jones Holden           51 laps
     Luff/Franchitti        Dumbrell Holden             15 laps
     Dumbrell/Klein         Rod Nash/FPR Ford            0 laps

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Whincup and Bourdais on pole again
Whincup and Bourdais win at Surfers
Whincup and Bourdais take pole
Whincup edges Lowndes in practice