Find out more about our subscriptions

Tony Kanaan leads final IndyCar practice at Las Vegas

Tony Kanaan, KV, Las Vegas 2011Tony Kanaan was quickest in final practice ahead of qualifying for the IndyCar title decider at Las Vegas.

The Brazilian KV Racing Technology driver edged out Oriol Servia (Newman/Haas) by 0.0246 seconds.

Andretti Autosport's Ryan Hunter-Reay was third, ahead of Ganassi driver Scott Dixon, Kanaan's team-mate EJ Viso.

Several unexpected names popped up in the top 10, led by HVM's Simona de Silvestro in sixth. Vitor Meira was another star underdog in seventh for AJ Foyt, while series returnee Tomas Scheckter put Sarah Fisher Racing's additional entry into eighth place.

The majority of the top 10 came from the second group of the split session. Hunter-Reay had led group one, ahead of his team-mate Mike Conway and Sam Schmidt driver Alex Tagliani, who ended up ninth and 10th on combined times.

Title contenders Will Power (Penske) and Dario Franchitti (Ganassi) had low-key sessions and were 12th and 15th.

The only incident of the session happened within minutes of the start of group one, as Dale Coyne Racing's James Jakes had a violent, fiery impact with the Turn 2 wall after a breakage in his car's left rear suspension. Jakes jumped out of the car immediately and escaped with minor burns. He will not be able to participate in qualifying, which starts only 45 minutes after the end of practice.

Pos  Driver               Team                     Time      Gap
 1.  Tony Kanaan          KV                       24.7926s
 2.  Oriol Servia         Newman/Haas              24.8172s  + 0.0246s
 3.  Ryan Hunter-Reay     Andretti                 24.8218s  + 0.0292s
 4.  Scott Dixon          Ganassi                  24.8433s  + 0.0507s
 5.  EJ Viso              KV                       24.9050s  + 0.1124s
 6.  Simona de Silvestro  HVM                      24.9060s  + 0.1134s
 7.  Vitor Meira          AJ Foyt                  24.9065s  + 0.1139s
 8.  Tomas Scheckter      Sarah Fisher             24.9366s  + 0.1440s
 9.  Mike Conway          Andretti                 24.9561s  + 0.1635s
10.  Alex Tagliani        Bryan Herta              24.9582s  + 0.1656s
11.  Ryan Briscoe         Penske                   24.9609s  + 0.1683s
12.  Will Power           Penske                   24.9645s  + 0.1719s
13.  Graham Rahal         Ganassi                  24.9689s  + 0.1763s
14.  Helio Castroneves    Penske                   24.9738s  + 0.1812s
15.  Dario Franchitti     Ganassi                  24.9839s  + 0.1913s
16.  Ed Carpenter         Sarah Fisher             24.9931s  + 0.2005s
17.  James Hinchcliffe    Newman/Haas              25.0103s  + 0.2177s
18.  Townsend Bell        Dreyer & Reinbold        25.0112s  + 0.2186s
19.  Marco Andretti       Andretti                 25.0115s  + 0.2189s
20.  Danica Patrick       Andretti                 25.0602s  + 0.2676s
21.  Jay Howard           Rahal Letterman Lanigan  25.0796s  + 0.2870s
22.  Buddy Rice           Panther                  25.0816s  + 0.2890s
23.  Alex Lloyd           Dale Coyne               25.0848s  + 0.2922s
24.  Sebastian Saavedra   Conquest                 25.0855s  + 0.2929s
25.  JR Hildebrand        Panther                  25.0931s  + 0.3005s
26.  Ana Beatriz          Dreyer & Reinbold        25.0985s  + 0.3059s
27.  Charlie Kimball      Ganassi                  25.1128s  + 0.3202s
28.  Takuma Sato          KV                       25.1166s  + 0.3240s
29.  Pippa Mann           Rahal Letterman Lanigan  25.1319s  + 0.3393s
30.  Paul Tracy           Dragon                   25.1346s  + 0.3420s
31.  Wade Cunningham      AFS/Sam Schmidt          25.1633s  + 0.3707s
32.  Dan Wheldon          Sam Schmidt              25.2320s  + 0.4394s
33.  Davey Hamilton       Dreyer & Reinbold        25.2928s  + 0.5002s
34.  James Jakes          Dale Coyne               25.3158s  + 0.5232s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Barnhart says banking not to blame
IndyCar wants teams' co-operation
Pole contact caused Wheldon's death
IndyCar drops 2012 Las Vegas race
Zanardi hits out at pack racing
2012 Dallara to be called DW12
Franchitti: We should race on ovals
Power suffers compression fracture
Drivers hail 'productive' meeting
Wheldon crash analysis continues
Wheldon honoured at public memorial
Stewart: IndyCar criticism unfair
Bernard promises thorough investigation
Wheldon family reveals funeral date
NASCAR to honour Wheldon
Mosley urges IndyCar to stay calm
Webber: Vegas race was too much
FIA not involved in Vegas investigation
Power: Vegas a recipe for disaster
FIA to assist in Wheldon investigation
Las Vegas boss defends venue
Coulthard: Indy should limit speeds
Dallara to name car after Wheldon
Wheldon's team boss could quit
Head trauma caused Wheldon's death
Andretti: Wheldon crash a 'one-off'
Tracy urges safety push on fencing
Hildebrand leaves hospital
Johnson: IndyCar should quit ovals
Mann released from hospital
Wheldon's family pays tribute
BRDC mourns loss of 'great talent'
IndyCar cancels prize ceremony
Power released from hospital
Motorsport pays tribute to Wheldon
Franchitti 'numb' over Wheldon loss
Wheldon dies from injuries
Wheldon airlifted to hospital
Finale red-flagged after huge crash
Indy title rivals expect better race
Kanaan takes Las Vegas pole
Patrick tops first Vegas practice