Find out more about our subscriptions

Greg Murphy takes shock pole as rain hits Bathurst 1000 top 10 shoot-out

Greg Murphy takes Bathurst poleGreg Murphy took a surprise Bathurst 1000 pole position for himself and team-mate Allan Simonsen as a rain shower hampered several big names in the top 10 shoot-out.

The weather turned just before championship leader Jamie Whincup took to the track, leaving the Triple Eight Holden driver, Friday qualifying pacesetter Garth Tander (Holden Racing Team) and Ford Performance Racing's Mark Winterbottom to struggle around miles off the pace, leaving them in eighth, ninth and 10th on the grid.

Before then, Murphy had managed a 2m08.8009s in his Kelly Racing Holden, denying FPR's Will Davison pole by 0.080 seconds, and giving the Kiwi his first pole in six years.

The front row start was still a better result than expected for Davison and co-driver Luke Youlden as they only got into the top 10 shoot-out after Lee Holdsworth (Garry Rogers Holden) for penalised for not presenting his car for weighing at the end of yesterday's session.

Last year's winners Craig Lowndes and Mark Skaife will aim to repeat that result from third on the grid in their Triple Eight Holden.

The James Courtney/Cameron McConville HRT Holden and Shane van Gisbergen/John McIntyre Stone Brothers Ford complete the top five for V8 Supercars' most famous event.

Pos  Drivers                 Team/Car             Time        Gap
 1.  Murphy/Simonsen         Kelly Holden         2m08.8009s
 2.  Davison/Youlden         FPR Ford             2m08.8821s  + 0.0812s
 3.  Lowndes/Skaife          Triple 8 Holden      2m09.2197s  + 0.4188s
 4.  McConville/Courtney     HRT Holden           2m09.2359s  + 0.4350s
 5.  Van Gisbergen/McIntyre  Stone Brothers Ford  2m09.3820s  + 0.5811s
 6.  Owen/Morris             Paul Morris Holden   2m09.5177s  + 0.7168s
 7.  Reynolds/Blanchard      Kelly Holden         2m10.1570s  + 1.3561s
 8.  Whincup/Thompson        Triple 8 Holden      2m26.6012s  + 17.8003s
 9.  Tander/Percat           HRT Holden           2m31.3934s  + 22.5925s
10.  Winterbottom/Richards   FPR Ford             2m52.0682s  + 43.2673s
11.  Dumbrell/Canto          Rod Nash/FPR Ford    2m08.2443s  (Qual one)
12.  Davison/Brabham         Stone Brothers Ford  2m08.2887s  (Qual one)
13.  Holdsworth/Ritter       Garry Rogers Holden  2m08.0942s  (Qual one)
14.  Caruso/Marshall         Garry Rogers Holden  2m08.4464s  (Qual one)
15.  Slade/Gaunt             Rosenberg/SBR Ford   2m08.4721s  (Qual one)
16.  Kelly/Kelly             Kelly Holden         2m08.5250s  (Qual one)
17.  Moffat/Halliday         Dick Johnson Ford    2m08.6631s  (Qual one)
18.  Bright/Jones            Brad Jones Holden    2m08.6681s  (Qual one)
19.  Kelly/Russell           Kelly Holden         2m08.7271s  (Qual one)
20.  Coulthard/Baird         Walkinshaw Holden    2m08.7746s  (Qual one)
21.  Bargwanna/Price         Brad Jones Holden    2m09.1155s  (Qual one)
22.  Luff/Pretty             Dumbrell Holden      2m09.1503s  (Qual one)
23.  D'Alberto/Wood          D'Alberto Ford       2m09.1948s  (Qual one)
24.  Johnson/Besnard         Dick Johnson Ford    2m09.3076s  (Qual one)
25.  Ingall/Perkins          Paul Morris Holden   2m09.3328s  (Qual one)
26.  Webb/Lyons              Tekno Ford           2m09.4017s  (Qual one)
27.  Reindler/Wall           Britek Holden        2m09.4020s  (Qual one)
28.  Fiore/Patrizi           Triple F Ford        2m10.0191s  (Qual one)
29.  Denyer/Waters           Kelly Holden         2m11.7371s  (Qual one)
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Tander/Percat win Bathurst thriller
Tander leads opening qualifying