Find out more about our subscriptions

Zarco scores maiden win after duel with title rival Terol at Motegi

Johan Zarco fights with Nico TerolJohann Zarco finally scored his maiden 125 win after a race-long duel with title rival Nicolas Terol at Motegi.

The Ajo Derbi rider finally broke a run which had seen him finish runner-up in six of the last eight races, including at Mugello and Misano where he also started on pole.

His win moves him to within 31 points of Terol in the 2011 championship, with a maximum 75 points still on offer from the final three races.

Motegi initially looked like it might be headed in a similar direction as Aspar's championship leader Nico Terol jumped Zarco at the start, before team-mate Hector Faubel also worked his way past to demote Zarco to third.

The Frenchman fought back however, and was second at the halfway stage as 0.3s covered the top three.

He kept the pressure up and, as Faubel was gradually dropped, made his move on the exit of Turn 1 on lap 13.

Terol tucked into his slipstream but on lap 15 made an uncharacteristic error that broke the gap between the duo, and also Terol's momentum. He brought the bike home in second to minimise the damage done by Zarco's victory, which eventually stretched past the 5s mark.

Faubel was very nearly caught at the finish by 16-year-old Blusens rider Maverick Vinales, who had to start from the pits after breaking his chain on his way to the grid.

Vinales simply scythed his way through the field, despatching rider after rider to eventually come home fourth and consolidate third place in the championship.

A four-way Aprilia battle for fifth was eventually won by Sandro Cortese (Germany Aprilia), with Jonas Folger (Ajo), Alberto Moncayo (Andalucia) and Adrian Martin (Aspar) all finishing within 1s.

Ajo Derbi's Efren Vazquez was also involved in the scrap but retired from the race with bike issues on lap eight.

Danny Kent (Ajo Aprilia) came through from 18th on the grid to finish ninth ahead of Alessandro Tonucci (Italia FMI Aprilia).

Results - 20 laps:
Pos  Rider                Team/Bike              Time/Gap
 1.  Johann Zarco         Ajo Derbi            39m49.968s
 2.  Nicolas Terol        Aspar Aprilia          + 5.900s
 3.  Hector Faubel        Aspar Aprilia         + 13.605s
 4.  Maverick Vinales     Blusens Aprilia       + 16.191s
 5.  Sandro Cortese       Germany Aprilia       + 23.422s
 6.  Jonas Folger         Ajo Aprilia           + 23.661s
 7.  Alberto Moncayo      Andalucia Aprilia     + 24.034s
 8.  Adrian Martin        Aspar Aprilia         + 24.171s
 9.  Danny Kent           Ajo Aprilia           + 49.118s
10.  Alessandro Tonucci   Italia FMI Aprilia    + 51.393s
11.  Jakub Kornfeil       Ongetta Aprilia       + 51.893s
12.  Marcel Schrotter     Mahindra            + 1m01.043s
13.  Jasper Iwema         Ongetta Aprilia     + 1m04.921s
14.  Harry Stafford       Ongetta Aprilia     + 1m05.606s
15.  Zulfahmi Khairuddin  Ajo Derbi           + 1m06.245s
16.  Jack Miller          Caretta KTM         + 1m07.653s
17.  Hikari Ookubo        Garage Honda        + 1m07.770s
18.  Sturla Fagerhaug     WTR-Ten10 Aprilia   + 1m11.052s
19.  Giulian Pedone       Phonica Aprilia     + 1m15.954s
20.  Brad Binder          Civica Aprilia      + 1m16.277s
21.  Shun'ya Mori         Phonica Aprilia     + 1m16.729s
22.  Joan Perello         Matteoni Aprilia    + 1m17.514s
23.  Luis Salom           RW Aprilia          + 1m40.618s
24.  Takehiro Yamamoto    Nobby Honda         + 1m41.836s
25.  Luca Fabrizio        WTR-Ten10 Aprilia       + 1 lap


     Taylor Mackenzie     Phonica Aprilia         17 laps
     Alexis Masbou        Caretta KTM             13 laps
     Hyuga Watanabe       Project u Honda         10 laps
     Danny Webb           Mahindra                 9 laps
     Efren Vazquez        Ajo Derbi                8 laps
     Niklas Ajo           TT Motion Aprilia         1 lap
     Luigi Morciano       Italia FMI Aprilia        1 lap
     Josep Rodriguez      Blusens Aprilia           1 lap
     Louis Rossi          Matteoni Aprilia            DNS
     Jun Ohnishi          Project u Honda             DNS
British GP competition
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Zarco takes commanding Motegi pole