Find out more about our subscriptions

Peugeot's Franck Montagny, Stephane Sarrazin and Alex Wurz win the Petit Le Mans

#8 Peugeot, Petit Le Mans 2011Peugeot claimed a third consecutive victory in the Petit Le Mans enduro at Road Atlanta.

The 908 turbodiesel LMP1 driven by Franck Montagny, Stephane Sarrazin and Alex Wurz claimed victory in the 1000-mile event by five laps after both Audi R18 TDIs retired. The German manufacturer's challenge disappeared early in the eighth hour when Romain Dumas tangled with a Porsche GTC class car as he was mounting a push for the lead.

Montagny had been delayed by the Porsche in Turn 7, allowing Dumas to get a run on him out of the corner. As the Peugeot moved across to claim the racing line for the following left-hand kink, Dumas tagged the Porsche and crashed out of the race in the car he shared with Marcel Fassler and Timo Bernhard.

The result gives Peugeot the Intercontinental Le Mans Cup LMP1 manufacturers' title with one race left to run.

The previous-generation Peugeot 908 HDi entered by ORECA finished second after a trouble-free run in the hands of Nicolas Lapierre and on-loan factory drivers Marc Gene and Nicolas Minassian. It finished one lap up on Stefan Mucke, Adrian Fernandez and Harold Primat in the Aston Martin Racing Lola coupe, which also enjoyed no problems on the way to third place.

The second Audi retired late in the race with steering problems. The car, shared by Allan McNish, Tom Kristensen and Rinaldo Capello, had fallen down the order following two long stops for repairs after McNish was hit up the rear by a GT car.

The LMP2 class was won by the Level 5 Motorsports HPD driven by Christophe Bouchut, Joao Barbosa and team owner Scott Tucker. They battled with the Signatech ORECA-Nissan until the French car ran into power steering problems.

The AF Corse Ferrari 458 driven by Gianmaria Bruni, Giancarlo Fisichella and Pierre Kaffer came back from a lap down to win the GT class. They lost the lap with a stop-go penalty after Fisichella ran a red light at the end of the pitlane, but the car quickly regained the lost ground before Bruni was able to get the better of Rahal BMW driver Joey Hand in his final stint.

Results - 394 laps:

Pos  Cl     Drivers                         Team/Car                    Time/Gap
 1.  P1     Montagny/Sarrazin/Wurz          Peugeot                 9h34m23.972s
 2.  P1     Lapierre/Minassian/Gene         ORECA Peugeot               + 5 laps
 3.  P1     Fernandez/Primat/Mucke          AMR Lola-Aston              + 6 laps
 4.  P1     Pla/Premat/Yvon                 OAK Pescarolo-Judd         + 10 laps
 5.  P1     Prost/Jani/Belicchi             Rebellion Lola-Toyota      + 13 laps
 6.  P2     Tucker/Bouchut/Barbosa          Level 5 HPD                + 19 laps
 7.  P1     Lahaye/Moreau/Ragues            OAK Pescarolo-Judd         + 24 laps
 8.  PC     Dobson/Richard/Lewis            PR1 Mathiasen FLM          + 26 laps
 9.  PC     Ducote/Ducote/Marcelli          Intersport FLM             + 26 laps
10.  GT     Fisichella/Bruni/Kaffer         AF Corse Ferrari           + 27 laps
11.  GT     Bergmeister/Long/Pilet          Flying Lizard Porsche      + 27 laps
12.  GT     Auberlen/Werner/Farfus          BMW                        + 27 laps
13.  P2     Brown/Johansson/Patterson       United OAK Pescarolo       + 27 laps
14.  GT     Gavin/Magnussen/Westbrook       Corvette                   + 28 laps
15.  GT     Henzler/Sellers/Ragginger       Falken Porsche             + 29 laps
16.  GT     Sharp/van Overbeek/Farnbacher   Extreme Speed Ferrari      + 29 laps
17.  P1     Dyson/Smith/Cochran             Dyson Lola-Mazda           + 31 laps
18.  GT     Firman/Jakubowski/Halliday      Luxury Ferrari             + 33 laps
19.  GT     Neiman/Holzer/Law               Flying Lizard Porsche      + 33 laps
20.  GT     Muller/Hand/Priaulx             BMW                        + 35 laps
21.  GT     Brown/Cosmo/Bell                Exteme Speed Ferrari       + 37 laps
22.  P2     Mailleux/Ordonez/Vernay         Signatech ORECA-Nissan     + 37 laps
23.  GT     Miller/Maassen/Collard          Miller Porsche             + 37 laps
24.  GTE-A  Krohn/Jonsson/Rugolo            Krohn Ferrari              + 39 laps
25.  GTE-A  Bornhauser/Canal/Gardel         Larbre Corvette            + 41 laps
26.  GT     Robertson/Snow/Murry            Robertson Doran Ford       + 44 laps
27.  GTC    Pappas/Bleekemolen/Bleekemolen  Black Swan Porsche         + 48 laps
28.  GTC    Sweedler/Wong/Keen              Alex Job Porsche           + 48 laps
29.  GTC    Ende/Pumpelly/Ludwig            TRG Porsche                + 49 laps
30.  PC     Jeannette/Gonzalez/Junco        CORE Autosport FLM         + 54 laps
31.  GTE-A  Kauffman/Aguas/Bell             AF Corse Ferrari           + 56 laps
32.  P1     Burgess/McMurry/Willman         Autocon Lola-AER           + 58 laps
33.  GTE-A  Giroix/Kauffman/Wainwright      Gulf Aston Martin          + 62 laps
34.  PC     Lux/Julian/Zugel/Grogor         Genoa FLM                  + 67 laps
35.  PC     Bennett/Montecalvo/Dalziel      CORE Autosport FLM         + 70 laps
36.  P2     Nicolet/da Rocha/Lafargue       OAK Pescarolo-Judd         + 70 laps
37.  GT     Ortelli/Makowiecki/Beltoise     Luxury Ferrari             + 78 laps
38.  P2     Tucker/Franchitti/Diaz          Level 5 HPD                + 80 laps
39.  GTE-A  Ehret/Mullen/Wills              CRS Ferrari                + 84 laps
40.  P1     Capello/Kristensen/McNish       Audi                       + 92 laps
41.  P1     Bernhard/Dumas/Fassler          Audi                       + 98 laps
42.  PC     Nicolosi/Boon/Lueders           Performance Tech FLM      + 101 laps

Retired/not classified:

     GTC    von Moltke/Norman/Keating       TRG Porsche                 247 laps
     GT     Rossiter/Mowlem/Hansson         Jetalliance Lotus           237 laps
     GT     Slingerland/Rich/Kasper         Jetalliance Lotus           197 laps
     GTE-A  Lietz/Ried/Bullitt              Proton Porsche              163 laps
     GT     Junqueira/Wilden/James          RSR Jaguar                   92 laps
     P1     Bourdais/Pagenaud/Davidson      Peugeot                      78 laps
     GT     Beretta/Milner/Garcia           Corvette                     76 laps
     P1     Luhr/Graf/Pickett               Muscle Milk Lola-Aston       63 laps
     P1     Al Masaood/Kane/Leitzinger      Dyson Lola-Mazda             29 laps
     GT     Jones/Moran/Lewis               RSR Jaguar                   27 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Peugeot in charge after Audi crashes
Peugeot in front at halfway point
ORECA leads at quarter distance
ORECA holds early Petit lead
Davidson takes Petit Le Mans pole
Kristensen tops interrupted practice
Pagenaud quickest in night session
McNish tops ultra-close practice
Peugeot 1-2 in Petit first practice