Find out more about our subscriptions

Marco Wittmann keeps slim F3 Euro Series title hopes alive with Valencia win

Marco Wittmann Signature Dallara F3 Euro Series 2011 Valencia

Marco Wittmann kept his slim F3 Euro Series title hopes alive with a dominant victory in the second of three races at Valencia.

The German made a rocket start in his Signature Dallara-Volkswagen from third on the reversed grid and swept around the outside of front-row starters Kimiya Sato and Gianmarco Raimondo at the first corner to take a lead he would not lose.

Such was Wittmann's advantage that he was able to back off with a few laps to go and still win by over six seconds. His fifth win of the year narrowed the still huge gap to Roberto Merhi in the championship to 67 points, with 85 still up for grabs.

Sato finished second to give Motopark its first podium finish since Spielberg in June, with Daniel Juncadella finishing right behind him in third.

Juncadella struggled to find rear grip during the early stages of the race and quickly came under pressure from his Prema team-mate Merhi. Three times the championship leader tried to pass Juncadella, the pair locking wheels exiting Turn 7 on lap four and the contact putting Merhi into the gravel.

He resumed in sixth, behind his team-mate Raimondo and Mucke's Felix Rosenqvist, and set about challenging the Swede in what was to become the most exciting battle of the weekend so far.

After attempting to pass Raimondo around the outside at the Doohan Curve, Rosenqvist came under attack from Merhi and ran side-by-side with the Spaniard, eventually resisting him three corner later.

Two laps further on and fifth place was Merhi's. Rosenqvist ran wide at the Herreros Esses, allowing his rival past into the final corner. Despite taking the place back two turns later, he finally gave way midway round the next lap. Merhi will be crowned champion on Sunday if he finishes fifth or better.

Behind Raimondo, Merhi and Rosenqvist were Signature's Carlos Munoz and Nigel Melker, the second Mucke driver completing the points scorers.

Results - 14 laps:

Pos  Driver              Team/Car                Time/Gap
 1.  Marco Wittmann      Signature Dallara-VW  21m10.404s
 2.  Kimiya Sato         Motopark Dallara-VW     + 6.176s
 3.  Daniel Juncadella   Prema Dallara-Merc      + 7.246s
 4.  Gianmarco Raimondo  Prema Dallara-Merc      + 8.021s
 5.  Roberto Merhi       Prema Dallara-Merc      + 8.432s
 6.  Felix Rosenqvist    Mucke Dallara-Merc      + 9.647s
 7.  Carlos Munoz        Signature Dallara-VW   + 13.137s
 8.  Nigel Melker        Mucke Dallara-Merc     + 13.670s
 9.  Jimmy Eriksson      Motopark allara-VW     + 16.361s
10.  Daniel Abt          Signature Dallara-VW   + 17.194s
11.  Laurens Vanthoor    Signature Dallara-VW    + 3 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Merhi takes title with win
Melker wins first Valencia race
Merhi and Melker take Valencia poles