Find out more about our subscriptions

Marc Marquez closes on Stefan Bradl with victory in epic Aragon Moto2 race

Marc Marquez leads Scott Redding and Stefan Bradl at AragonMarc Marquez reduced Stefan Bradl's Moto2 championship lead to a mere six points by taking his seventh win of the season at Aragon, as a tyre problem for Bradl dropped him to eighth.

The title rivals had made a spectacular start to the race, launching into an immediate three-way battle with Scott Redding that included the lead being exchanged repeatedly on the first lap alone.

That level of frenetic dicing continued for the first two thirds of the race, with Andrea Iannone, Simone Corsi and Alex de Angelis joining in, and all taking a turn in the lead, as Aleix Espargaro, Julian Simon and Mike di Meglio started tagging onto the back of the train too.

Marquez kept fighting to the front of the pack but failing to break away - at one stage running wide off the track just as he seemed set to escape.

The crunch moment came on lap 14, when Speed Master rider Iannone made a big move on Marquez at the first corner, slid slightly off course, and narrowly avoided taking the race leader out while also breaking up the pack a little.

While Iannone accelerated back on in third place, Marquez got some clear air at last and started cruising away, going on to win by 2.466 seconds.

Iannone reclaimed second, with Corsi (Ioda) and de Angelis (JIR) chasing him home.

The rest of the erstwhile lead group became detached - and grew into an even bigger gaggle, with just 3.1s covering fifth to 17th places at the flag.

Bradl began to suffer a severe tyre problem with his Kiefer Kalex and drifted down the order to finish eighth, behind Espargaro, Bradley Smith and Thomas Luthi. Early leader Redding fell right back to 15th.

Results - 21 laps:

Pos  Rider                Team/Bike               Time/Gap
 1.  Marc Marquez         Catalunya Suter       40m20.575s
 2.  Andrea Iannone       Speed Master Suter      + 2.466s
 3.  Simone Corsi         Ioda FTR                + 2.574s
 4.  Alex de Angelis      JIR Motobi              + 3.054s
 5.  Aleix Espargaro      Pons Kalex             + 10.831s
 6.  Bradley Smith        Tech 3                 + 10.870s
 7.  Thomas Luthi         Interwetten Suter      + 11.005s
 8.  Stefan Bradl         Kiefer Kalex           + 11.212s
 9.  Dominique Aegerter   Technomag-CIP Suter    + 11.810s
10.  Mika Kallio          Marc VDS Suter         + 11.939s
11.  Anthony West         MZ                     + 12.108s
12.  Mike di Meglio       Tech 3                 + 12.114s
13.  Max Neukirchner      MZ                     + 12.180s
14.  Pol Espargaro        Speed Up FTR           + 12.908s
15.  Scott Redding        Marc VDS Suter         + 13.329s
16.  Esteve Rabat         Blusens FTR            + 13.875s
17.  Julian Simon         Aspar Suter            + 13.954s
18.  Xavier Simeon        Tech 3                 + 15.251s
19.  Claudio Corti        Italtrans Suter        + 18.470s
20.  Jordi Torres         Aspar Suter            + 20.128s
21.  Randy Krummenacher   Kiefer Kalex           + 38.974s
22.  Alex Baldolini       Pons Kalex             + 39.072s
23.  Kenny Noyes          Avintia FTR            + 39.340s
24.  Tomoyoshi Koyama     Technomag-CIP Suter    + 48.695s
25.  Ricard Cardus        QMMF Moriwaki          + 48.843s
26.  Santiago Hernandez   SAG FTR              + 1m02.670s
27.  Sergio Gadea         G22 Moriwaki         + 1m05.633s
28.  Joan Olive           Castello FTR         + 1m06.619s
29.  Valentin Debise      Speed Up FTR         + 1m11.832s
30.  Robertino Pietri     Italtrans Suter      + 1m27.512s
31.  Yuki Takahashi       Gresini Moriwaki     + 1m31.402s
32.  Mashel Al Naimi      QMMF Moriwaki        + 1m33.725s
33.  Elena Rosell         Aspar Suter          + 1m36.548s


     Michele Pirro        Gresini Moriwaki         17 laps
     Jules Cluzel         Forward Suter             9 laps
     Ratthapark Wilairot  SAG FTR                   9 laps
     Raffaele de Rosa     Forward Suter             9 laps
     Mattia Pasini        Ioda FTR                  3 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Marquez flies to another pole