Find out more about our subscriptions

Will Davison wins first V8 Supercars sprint race at Phillip Island

Will Davison, Ford Performance Racing, leads at Phillip IslandWill Davison led from start to finish in the first of the two short sprint races that will determined the grid for V8 Supercars' first endurance race of the season, the Phillip Island 500k.

Today's qualifying races see the cars' driver pairings split, with each one taking part in one of the two sprints and the results combined to form the grid for Sunday's main event. Each car must make a compulsory pitstop in one of the qualifying sprints.

Ford Performance Racing driver Davison - who shares with Luke Youlden this weekend - held off Triple Eight's Andrew Thompson, co-driver for championship leader Jamie Whincup, in the opening laps, before Holden Racing Team's Garth Tander overtook Thompson and tried to chase down the leader. He could not catch Davison though, and the Ford came home 2.6 seconds clear of Tander.

Thompson held third, ahead of Kelly Racing Holden duo David Reynolds and Todd Kelly, and championship contender Craig Lowndes (Triple Eight), who had lost a lot of ground with a bad start.

Results - 14 laps:

Pos  Driver              Team/Car                   Time/Gap
 1.  Will Davison        FPR Ford                22m40.9887s
 2.  Garth Tander        HRT Holden                + 2.6975s
 3.  Andrew Thompson     Triple 8 Holden           + 5.2703s
 4.  David Reynolds      Kelly Holden              + 6.1456s
 5.  Todd Kelly          Kelly Holden              + 6.9091s
 6.  Craig Lowndes       Triple 8 Holden           + 7.9256s
 7.  Steve Owen          Paul Morris Holden       + 11.9997s
 8.  Michael Caruso      Garry Rogers Holden      + 13.4414s
 9.  Jason Bright        Brad Jones Holden        + 13.9934s
10.  Fabian Coulthard    Walkinshaw Holden        + 15.0256s
11.  Lee Holdsworth      Garry Rogers Holden      + 15.3930s
12.  Tim Slade           Rosenberg/SBR Ford       + 18.0130s
13.  Jonathon Webb       Tekno Ford               + 19.0301s
14.  Jason Bargwanna     Brad Jones Holden        + 19.0988s
15.  Dean Fiore          Triple F Ford            + 21.2973s
16.  Steven Johnson      Dick Johnson Ford        + 25.0086s
17.  Alex Davison        Stone Brothers Ford      + 27.1664s
18.  Cameron McConville  HRT Holden               + 57.0469s
19.  John McIntyre       Stone Brothers Ford    + 1m01.5715s
20.  Dean Canto          Rod Nash/FPR Ford      + 1m02.1761s
21.  Steven Richards     FPR Ford               + 1m02.6798s
22.  Owen Kelly          Kelly Holden           + 1m05.6104s
23.  Allan Simonsen      Kelly Holden           + 1m13.2400s
24.  James Moffat        Dick Johnson Ford      + 1m14.5025s
25.  Jack Perkins        Paul Morris Holden     + 1m14.8171s
26.  Taz Douglas         D'Alberto Ford         + 1m17.7826s
27.  Nathan Pretty       Lucas Dumbrell Holden  + 1m23.4095s
28.  Karl Reindler       Britek/BJR Holden      + 1m24.3829s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Lowndes/Skaife win at Phillip Island
Van Gisbergen triumphs in sprint two
Davison and Whincup take poles