Find out more about our subscriptions

Dyson Lola-Mazdas sweep American Le Mans Series Laguna Seca front row

Smith/Dyson/Cochan, Dyson Lola-Mazda, Laguna Seca 2011Dyson's Lola-Mazdas filled the front row in qualifying for the American Le Mans Series' six hour race at Laguna Seca, with championship leaders Guy Smith and Chris Dyson, plus third driver Jay Cochran, taking pole.

Smith had brought the car in with a suspected misfire after its out-lap, but the problem appeared to clear itself, allowing the Briton to set a 1m13.927s to earn the top spot.

His team-mate Steven Kane, who had dominated LMP1 qualifying up to that point, ended up 0.694s adrift in second.

Adrian Fernandez announced Aston Martin Racing's return to the ALMS with third on the grid in the Lola-Aston, 0.2s behind Kane, and ahead of the similar Muscle Milk car, as Klaus Graf struggled for grip and speed.

RLL BMW stretched its GT pole run to seven races, but compared to the usually tight contests, Joey Hand was spectacularly dominant in Laguna qualifying.

At one stage the American's advantage was over a second, while just 0.4s covered the next eight cars.

Corvette's Oliver Gavin eventually got Hand's margin down to 0.898s as he got between the two BMWs on the grid with a bold late lap.

The Extreme Speed team had a strong afternoon, with Guy Cosmo and Johannes van Overbeek putting its Ferraris fourth and sixth, either side of the #45 Flying Lizard Porsche, and ahead of the Risi Ferrari and #3 Corvette.

Risi had a complicated day. Jaime Melo went off in practice, meaning Toni Vilander - making his Laguna debut - had to qualify to ensure he had enough running at the track before the race. The Finn ended qualifying parked on the circuit having run out of fuel.

The hybrid Porsche, running outside the class system, had been among the GT frontrunners in practice but did not take part in qualifying.

Kyle Marcelli earned LMPC pole for Intersport. Points leader Gunnar Jeanette (CORE Autosport) got to within 0.043s of Marcelli's early provisional pole, then had a high speed trip through the gravel at Turn 6. While he recovered, Marcelli went faster still to extend his final cushion to 0.394s.

For the third straight race, Jeroen Bleekemolen put the #54 Black Swan Porsche on GTC pole, this time by 0.3s over Damien Faulkner's Green Hornet/Black Swan entry.

Pos  Cl   Drivers                         Team/Car                Time
 1.  P1   Dyson/Smith/Cochran             Dyson Lola-Mazda        1m13.927s
 2.  P1   Al Masaood/Kane/Leitzinger      Dyson Lola-Mazda        1m14.621s
 3.  P1   Fernandez/Primat/Mucke          AMR Lola-Aston          1m14.827s
 4.  P1   Luhr/Graf                       Muscle Milk Lola-Aston  1m15.564s
 5.  P2   Tucker/Bouchut/Diaz             Level 5 Lola-Honda      1m16.688s
 6.  P1   Burgess/McMurry/Willman         Autocon Lola-AER        1m18.379s
 7.  PC   Ducote/Ducote/Marcelli          Intersport FLM          1m18.844s
 8.  PC   Jeannette/Gonzalez/Junco        CORE Autosport FLM      1m19.238s
 9.  PC   Lux/Julian/Guasch               Genoa FLM               1m19.423s
10.  PC   Bennett/Montecalvo/Wallace      CORE Autosport FLM      1m20.028s
11.  PC   Dobson/Richard/Villeneuve       PR1 Mathiasen FLM       1m20.779s
12.  GT   Muller/Hand                     RLL BMW                 1m22.226s
13.  GT   Gavin/Magnussen                 Corvette                1m23.124s
14.  GT   Auberlen/Werner                 RLL BMW                 1m23.132s
15.  GT   Brown/Cosmo                     Extreme Speed Ferrari   1m23.367s
16.  GT   Bergmeister/Long                Flying Lizard Porsche   1m23.368s
17.  GT   Sharp/van Overbeek              Extreme Speed Ferrari   1m23.386s
18.  GT   Melo/Vilander                   Risi Ferrari            1m23.518s
19.  GT   Beretta/Milner                  Corvette                1m23.566s
20.  GT   Henzler/Sellers                 Falken Porsche          1m23.758s
21.  GT   Miller/Maassen                  Miller Porsche          1m24.133s
22.  GT   Junqueira/Wilden                RSR Jaguar              1m24.383s
23.  GT   Neiman/Holzer                   Flying Lizard Porsche   1m27.829s
24.  GTC  Pappas/Bleekemolen/Bleekemolen  Black Swan Porsche      1m27.850s
25.  GTC  LeSaffre/Faulkner               Green Hornet Porsche    1m28.152s
26.  GTC  Ende/Pumpelly/Ludwig            TRG Porsche             1m28.386s
27.  GTC  Ragginger/Kauffmann/Cisneros    NGT Porsche             1m28.617s
28.  GTC  von Moltke/Buckler/di Guida     TRG Porsche             1m28.796s
29.  GTC  Ham/Thompson/Blackett           JDX Porsche             1m28.870s
30.  GTC  Sweedler/Wong/Lewis             Alex Job Porsche        1m29.194s
31.  GTC  Sofronas/Welch                  GMG Porsche             1m29.334s
32.  GTC  Avenatti/Faieta/Wagner          Competition Porsche     1m29.532s
33.  PC   Nicolosi/Boon/Lueders           Performance Tech FLM
34.  PC   Moro/Drissi/Vera                Intersport FLM
35.  GT   Jones/Moran                     RSR Jaguar
36.  UNC  Dumas/Lietz                     Porsche Hybrid
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Aston wins as Dyson takes title