Find out more about our subscriptions

Filipe Albuquerque heads first DTM practice at Oschersleben

Filipe Albuquerque Rosberg Audi DTM Nurburgring 2011

Filipe Albuquerque headed an unusually spread-out opening practice session for this weekend's DTM round at Oschersleben in Germany.

The Portuguese driver went to the top of the timesheets in his old-spec Team Rosberg Audi with a little over 20 minutes remaining; his lap in 1m22.722s good enough to remain the benchmark for the rest of the session.

The Abt-run A4s of Mike Rockenfeller, Miguel Molina and Timo Scheider followed him as Audis took the top four spaces. The quartet were split by 0.6s however, a massive margin by the standards of this DTM season.

David Coulthard was the best of the Mercedes drivers as he put his old-spec Mucke Motorsport C-class fifth, ahead of Oliver Jarvis' Abt Audi.

Championship leader Martin Tomczyk was seventh quickest in his Phoenix Audi, ahead of Mattias Ekstrom's Abt car and Maro Engel in the second Mucke Mercedes.

Bruno Spengler - Tomczyk's only realistic title rival - completed the top 10 in the best of the HWA Mercedes. However, he was almost a second off the pace.

Jamie Green had sat at the foot of the timesheets with a minute to go, but the British HWA driver put in a good lap right at the end to go 12th, just ahead of Brands Hatch podium finisher Edoardo Mortara (Rosberg Audi) and Gary Paffett (HWA Mercedes).

Pos  Driver                Team/Car          Time       Gap
 1.  Filipe Albuquerque    Rosberg Audi      1m22.722s
 2.  Mike Rockenfeller     Abt Audi          1m22.962s  + 0.240s
 3.  Miguel Molina         Abt Audi          1m23.194s  + 0.472s
 4.  Timo Scheider         Abt Audi          1m23.339s  + 0.617s
 5.  David Coulthard       Mucke Mercedes    1m23.378s  + 0.656s
 6.  Oliver Jarvis         Abt Audi          1m23.475s  + 0.753s
 7.  Martin Tomczyk        Phoenix Audi      1m23.496s  + 0.774s
 8.  Mattias Ekstrom       Abt Audi          1m23.504s  + 0.782s
 9.  Maro Engel            Mucke Mercedes    1m23.524s  + 0.802s
10.  Bruno Spengler        HWA Mercedes      1m23.700s  + 0.978s
11.  Ralf Schumacher       HWA Mercedes      1m23.905s  + 1.183s
12.  Jamie Green           HWA Mercedes      1m23.944s  + 1.222s
13.  Edoardo Mortara       Rosberg Audi      1m23.951s  + 1.229s
14.  Gary Paffett          HWA Mercedes      1m24.056s  + 1.334s
15.  Christian Vietoris    Persson Mercedes  1m24.057s  + 1.335s
16.  Susie Stoddart        Persson Mercedes  1m24.230s  + 1.508s
17.  Renger van der Zande  Persson Mercedes  1m24.250s  + 1.528s
18.  Rahel Frey            Phoenix Audi      1m24.408s  + 1.686s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Ekstrom dominates at Oschersleben
Tomczyk heads warm-up
Tomczyk praying for rain
Paffett excluded from qualifying
Molina on shock Oschersleben pole
Albuquerque stays on top in practice