Find out more about our subscriptions

Richie Stanaway wins on GP3 debut at Spa

Richie Stanaway wins at SpaGP3 newcomer Richie Stanaway took a dominant victory in the second race of the weekend at Spa.

The German Formula 3 championship leader led every lap from pole position, taking a comfortable win ahead of his charging team-mate James Calado.

Stanaway lost the lead at the start to fellow front row man Nico Muller (Jenzer), but the ART driver, who only made his GP3 debut this weekend, retook the place on the run from Eau Rouge to Les Combes.

From there he pulled away at an impressive rate, while there was plenty of action behind him.

Calado was at the centre of the action, moving from seventh to fifth on the opening lap. He then passed Addax's Tom Dillmann for fourth on lap three, and followed a stunning move on Adrian Quaife-Hobbs (Manor) into Eau Rouge with another pass at the top of the hill on Muller.

That put him up to second, where he chipped away at the gap to the leader but was never close enough to mount a challenge.

Muller took a comfortable third as Quaife-Hobbs dropped out with mechanical gremlins, while championship leader Valtteri Bottas (ART) was set for fourth until he hit trouble as well.

The Finn eventually dropped to 19th, allowing Calado to slash his points lead to just six points heading into the final weekend at Monza.

With Bottas out of the way, Michael Christensen (Addax) and Simon Trummer (MW Arden) fought over fourth place. Trummer briefly took the position early on the final lap, but it was short-lived as Christensen repassed him at Les Combes.

Results - 12 laps:

Pos  Driver                  Team          Time/Gap
 1.  Richie Stanaway         ART         26m47.675s
 2.  James Calado            ART           + 4.007s
 3.  Nico Muller             Jenzer        + 7.126s
 4.  Michael Christensen     RSC Mucke    + 16.441s
 5.  Simon Trummer           MW Arden     + 17.081s
 6.  Alex Fontana            Jenzer       + 19.013s
 7.  Conor Daly              Carlin       + 28.056s
 8.  Ivan Lukashevich        Status       + 29.348s
 9.  Rio Haryanto            Manor        + 32.482s
10.  Marlon Stockinger       Atech CRS    + 32.534s
11.  Antonio Felix da Costa  Status       + 33.189s
12.  Zoel Amberg             Atech CRS    + 36.271s
13.  Nick Yelloly            Atech CRS    + 42.505s
14.  Tamas Pal Kiss          Tech 1       + 44.434s
15.  Maxim Zimin             Jenzer       + 44.881s
16.  Gabby Chaves            Addax        + 45.707s
17.  Daniel Mancinelli       RSC Mucke    + 46.160s
18.  Leonardo Cordeiro       Carlin       + 46.479s
19.  Valtteri Bottas         ART          + 48.235s
20.  Dean Smith              Addax        + 50.257s
21.  Thomas Hylkema          Tech 1     + 2m07.765s


     Adrian Quaife-Hobbs     Manor           7 laps
     Tom Dillmann            Addax           7 laps
     Nigel Melker            RSC Mucke       2 laps
     Alexander Sims          Status          1 laps
     Mitch Evans             MW Arden        1 laps
     Aaro Vainio             Tech 1          1 laps
     Callum Macleod          Carlin          1 laps
     Mattias Laine           Manor           0 laps
     Lewis Williamson        MW Arden        0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Bottas dominates first Spa race
Calado leads all-ART GP3 front row
Bottas sets pace in free practice