Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Craig Lowndes completes clean sweep of Queensland wins in race three

Craig Lowndes wins at Queensland RacewayCraig Lowndes completed a perfect weekend at Queensland Raceway as he made it three wins from three races to add to his double pole.

Lowndes had led throughout yesterday's two shorter races and was similarly in control in today's 65-lap event.

He could never relax, though, as James Rosenberg/Stone Brothers Ford driver Tim Slade continued his best V8 Supercars form yet to chase Lowndes all afternoon, finishing just over a second adrift.

His Queensland victories were a significant boost to Lowndes' championship hopes, as his points-leading team-mate Jamie Whincup had a nightmare Sunday race.

An air intake cover had accidentally been left on his car, forcing him to pit after the warm-up lap and start last. He then incurred a pitlane speeding penalty before fighting back to 10th, despite a last-lap collision with Rick Kelly.

Shane van Gisbergen narrowly beat James Moffat to the final podium position as the rookie scored his best V8 Supercar result yet in fourth.

David Reynolds was fifth, while Garth Tander charged through from 19th on the grid to take sixth for Holden Racing Team, just ahead of Fabian Coulthard, Alex Davison and Steven Johnson.

Results - 65 laps:

Pos  Driver               Team/Car                  Time/Gap
 1.  Craig Lowndes        Triple 8 Holden      1h19m06.1660s
 2.  Tim Slade            Rosenberg/SBR Ford       + 1.0743s
 3.  Shane van Gisbergen  Stone Brothers Ford     + 33.9553s
 4.  James Moffat         Dick Johnson Ford       + 35.4370s
 5.  David Reynolds       Kelly Holden            + 42.7174s
 6.  Garth Tander         HRT Holden              + 46.3973s
 7.  Fabian Coulthard     Walkinshaw Holden       + 46.8949s
 8.  Alex Davison         Stone Brothers Ford     + 48.0534s
 9.  Steven Johnson       Dick Johnson Ford       + 51.3953s
10.  Jamie Whincup        Triple 8 Holden         + 56.6776s
11.  Russell Ingall       Paul Morris Holden      + 57.5452s
12.  James Courtney       HRT Holden              + 57.6266s
13.  Greg Murphy          Kelly Holden            + 59.7677s
14.  Michael Caruso       Garry Rogers Holden     + 59.8564s
15.  Todd Kelly           Kelly Holden          + 1m00.0558s
16.  Karl Reindler        Britek Holden         + 1m03.8566s
17.  Rick Kelly           Kelly Holden          + 1m07.2887s
18.  Lee Holdsworth       Garry Rogers Holden   + 1m08.6632s
19.  Mark Winterbottom    FPR Ford              + 1m12.1440s
20.  Tony D'Alberto       D'Alberto Ford        + 1m12.8067s
21.  Will Davison         FPR Ford                   + 1 lap
22.  Jonathon Webb        Tekno Ford                 + 1 lap
23.  Warren Luff          Dumbrell Holden            + 1 lap
24.  Paul Dumbrell        Rod Nash/FPR Ford          + 1 lap
25.  Dean Fiore           Triple F Ford              + 1 lap
26.  Jason Bargwanna      Brad Jones Holden          + 1 lap
27.  Steve Owen           Paul Morris Holden        + 2 laps
28.  Jason Bright         Brad Jones Holden        + 12 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Lowndes secures another pole
Lowndes wins again in second leg
Lowndes takes first victory of 2011
Lowndes claims Queensland pole