Find out more about our subscriptions

Marc Marquez makes it four Moto2 poles in five races at Brno

Marc Marquez Moto2 German Grand Prix 2011

Marc Marquez made it three Moto2 pole positions in a row with a scintillating late effort in Czech Grand Prix qualifying at Brno.

The 18-year-old Spaniard had battled hard with championship leader Stefan Bradl for the duration of the session, but looked to have been beaten by his rival when the German produced a 2m00.704s lap with two minutes of the session remaining.

Marquez was not done, however, and after finding two major slipstreams during the final minute, was able to lap in 2m00.493s on his Team Catalunya Suter machine - 0.211s quicker than the Kiefer Kalex rider. His lap made it four poles from the last five Moto2 grands prix.

Marquez's late lap knocked Alex de Angelis back to third, and the JIR Motobi rider headed Tomas Luthi's Interwetten Suter and Andrea Iannone's Speed Master Suter - the latter securing his best grid position of the year.

Pons Kalex rider Aleix Espargaro and Idoa FTR's Simone Corsi were next up - the latter frustrating Espargaro's brother Pol during the session after getting in his way.

Completing the top 10 were Corsi's team-mate Mattias Pasini, Claudio Corti's Italtrans Suter and Bradl's team-mate Randy Krummenacher.

The Swiss rider could have been higher up but for a crash in the final five minutes while there were also shunts for Santiago Hernandez and Esteve Rabat.

British duo Bradley Smith and Scott Redding could manage only 16th and 20th places for the Tech 3 and Marc VDS Suter teams respectively.

The worst luck was had by Julian Simon, who crashed his Aspar Suter without even completing a lap. With no spare bike, he did not set a time and will start last.

Pos  Rider                Team/Bike            Time       Gap

 1.  Marc Marquez         Catalunya Suter      2m02.493s
 2.  Stefan Bradl         Kiefer Kalex         2m02.704s  + 0.211s
 3.  Alex de Angelis      JIR Motobi           2m02.725s  + 0.232s
 4.  Thomas Luthi         Paddock Suter        2m02.848s  + 0.355s
 5.  Andrea Iannone       Speed Master Suter   2m02.943s  + 0.450s
 6.  Aleix Espargaro      Pons Kalex           2m03.461s  + 0.968s
 7.  Simone Corsi         Ioda FTR             2m03.497s  + 1.004s
 8.  Mattia Pasini        Ioda FTR             2m03.523s  + 1.030s
 9.  Claudio Corti        Italtrans Suter      2m03.545s  + 1.052s
10.  Randy Krummenacher   Kiefer Kalex         2m03.606s  + 1.113s
11.  Jules Cluzel         Forward Suter        2m03.627s  + 1.134s
12.  Dominique Aegerter   Technomag-CIP Suter  2m03.662s  + 1.169s
13.  Kenan Sofuoglu       Technomag-CIP Suter  2m03.702s  + 1.209s
14.  Pol Espargaro        Speed Up FTR         2m03.715s  + 1.222s
15.  Max Neukirchner      MZ                   2m03.749s  + 1.256s
16.  Bradley Smith        Tech 3               2m03.844s  + 1.351s
17.  Yuki Takahashi       Gresini Moriwaki     2m03.849s  + 1.356s
18.  Esteve Rabat         Blusens FTR          2m03.898s  + 1.405s
19.  Valentin Debise      Speed Up FTR         2m04.005s  + 1.512s
20.  Scott Redding        Marc VDS Suter       2m04.025s  + 1.532s
21.  Ratthapark Wilairot  SAG FTR              2m04.082s  + 1.589s
22.  Michele Pirro        Gresini Moriwaki     2m04.153s  + 1.660s
23.  Jordi Torres         Aspar Suter          2m04.178s  + 1.685s
24.  Mike di Meglio       Tech 3               2m04.320s  + 1.827s
25.  Robertino Pietri     Italtrans Suter      2m04.351s  + 1.858s
26.  Ricard Cardus        QMMF Moriwaki        2m04.488s  + 1.995s
27.  Axel Pons            Pons Kalex           2m04.574s  + 2.081s
28.  Carmelo Morales      Desguaces La Torre   2m04.586s  + 2.093s
29.  Yonny Hernandez      Blusens FTR          2m04.623s  + 2.130s
30.  Mika Kallio          Marc VDS Suter       2m04.823s  + 2.330s
31.  Alex Baldolini       Forward Suter        2m04.915s  + 2.422s
32.  Kenny Noyes          Avintia FTR          2m04.957s  + 2.464s
33.  Xavier Simeon        Tech 3               2m05.220s  + 2.727s
34.  Anthony West         MZ                   2m05.713s  + 3.220s
35.  Steven Odendaal      MS Suter             2m05.991s  + 3.498s
36.  Santiago Hernandez   SAG FTR              2m06.349s  + 3.856s
37.  Mashel Al Naimi      QMMF Moriwaki        2m07.505s  + 5.012s
38.  Tommaso Lorenzetti   Castello FTR         2m08.257s  + 5.764s

  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Iannone takes last lap Brno win