Find out more about our subscriptions

Lucas Luhr and Michael Krumm complete double GT1 win at Paul Ricard

Lucas Luhr and Michael Krumm win at Paul RicardNissan drivers Michael Krumm and Lucas Luhr did the double at Paul Ricard's round of the FIA GT1 World Championship event by adding victory in the main race to their triumph in yesterday's qualifying event.

Krumm and Luhr led throughout the one-hour championship race at the former home of the French Grand Prix, apart from a short period during the mid-race pitstops.

Krumm built up a lead of four seconds ahead of Tomas Enge's Young Driver AMR Aston Martin over the course of the opening stint. Luhr found himself with only a second in hand over the other Young Driver Aston after the pitstop sequence was complete but was able to hold off Darren Turner through the final half hour of the race, ending up less than a second ahead.

Krumm said: "It took a while to get the tyre pressures up. Then I got grip and could make a gap. I wanted to make as much of a gap as possible in case something went wrong, which it did."

The second Young Driver car that Alex Muller took over from Enge ended up third, just ahead of the the best of the Sumo Nissans in the hands of David Brabham. The former Le Mans 24 Hours winner, who shares with Jamie Campbell-Walter, moved past Maxime Martin in the Marc VDS Ford with two laps to go and was able to close to within just over half a second of Muller in the Aston.

The double victory for Krumm and Luhr has moved them to the top of the points table. Erstwhile championship leaders Marc Basseng and Markus Winkelhock could finish only eighth in their All-Inkl Lamborghini Murcielago.

Results - 29 laps:

Pos  Drivers                  Team/Car                  Time/Gap
 1.  Krumm/Luhr               JRM Nissan            1h01m51.498s
 2.  Mucke/Turner             Young Driver Aston        + 0.843s
 3.  Enge/Muller              Young Driver Aston       + 11.602s
 4.  Campbell-Walter/Brabham  Sumo Power Nissan        + 12.232s
 5.  Hohenadel/Piccini        Hexis Aston              + 13.832s
 6.  Makowiecki/Martin        Marc VDS Ford            + 14.730s
 7.  Catsburg/Bernoldi        Sumo Power Nissan        + 27.576s
 8.  Winkelhock/Basseng       All-Inkl Lamborghini     + 28.140s
 9.  Pastorelli/Schwager      All-Inkl Lamborghini     + 34.715s
10.  Enjalbert/Rossi          DKR Corvette             + 37.893s
11.  Piccione/Dusseldorp      Hexis Aston              + 39.835s
12.  Leinders/Hennerici       Marc VDS Ford            + 40.429s
13.  Ickx/Nygaard             Belgian Ford               + 1 lap


     Westbrook/Dumbreck       JRM Nissan                 26 laps
     Leclerc/Clairay          Belgian Ford               16 laps
     Hezemans/Zuber           Exim Corvette               0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Luhr and Krumm win qualifier
Westbrook takes pole for JRM Nissan