Find out more about our subscriptions

Marc Marquez wins Sachsenring Moto2 race ahead of Stefan Bradl

Marc Marquez Moto2 German Grand Prix 2011

Marc Marquez edged a little closer to Stefan Bradl in the Moto2 championship by denying the German a home victory at the Sachsenring.

125cc champion Marquez and Moto2 leader Bradl were the main protagonists in the lead battle throughout the race, with Marquez ahead until he ran wide at Turn 1 on lap 14.

He stayed with Bradl, though, and was able to retaliate with seven laps to go, before eventually edging away to clinch a third consecutive win with a 0.896-second cushion.

Alex de Angelis took his first podium of the season in third, having split Marquez and Bradl for a while without managing to nose into the lead.

Tom Luthi made it a four-bike lead pack for a while, though he was later edged back to fifth as Bradl's Kiefer team-mate Randy Krummenacher put on an impressive late charge to his best Moto2 result yet.

Yonny Hernandez also lost out to Krummenacher in the closing stages and finished a still Moto2 career-best sixth, having run with the leaders for a spell.

Scott Redding and Simone Corsi charged through from 23rd and 21st on the grid to seventh and eighth respectively.

Returnee Julian Simon crashed at the first corner in his first race back after breaking his leg at Catalunya, though he escaped without further injury.

Bradley Smith also ran off the road on the opening lap, and later crashed out for good while trying to fight back.

Front row starter Aleix Espargaro crashed out early in a high-side that saw him collect the unlucky Max Neukirchner.

Results - 29 laps:

Pos  Rider                Team/Bike                Time/Gap
 1.  Marc Marquez         CatalunyaCaixa Suter   41m37.457s
 2.  Stefan Bradl         Kiefer Kalex             + 0.896s
 3.  Alex de Angelis      JIR Motobi               + 1.387s
 4.  Randy Krummenacher   Kiefer Kalex             + 3.413s
 5.  Thomas Luthi         Paddock Suter            + 4.185s
 6.  Yonny Hernandez      Blusens FTR              + 7.691s
 7.  Scott Redding        Marc VDS Suter          + 10.606s
 8.  Simone Corsi         Ioda FTR                + 10.667s
 9.  Jules Cluzel         Forward Suter           + 12.079s
10.  Michele Pirro        Gresini Moriwaki        + 12.337s
11.  Kenan Sofuoglu       Technomag-CIP Suter     + 13.197s
12.  Dominique Aegerter   Technomag-CIP Suter     + 21.516s
13.  Pol Espargaro        Speed Up FTR            + 21.652s
14.  Andrea Iannone       Speed Master Suter      + 21.827s
15.  Claudio Corti        Italtrans Suter         + 22.238s
16.  Mike di Meglio       Tech 3                  + 22.359s
17.  Alex Baldolini       Forward Suter           + 26.498s
18.  Xavier Simeon        Tech 3                  + 30.137s
19.  Mattia Pasini        Ioda FTR                + 34.023s
20.  Kenny Noyes          Avintia FTR             + 34.188s
21.  Jordi Torres         Aspar Suter             + 34.300s
22.  Axel Pons            Pons Kalex              + 34.949s
23.  Anthony West         MZ                      + 49.149s
24.  Santiago Hernandez   SAG FTR                 + 49.902s
25.  Ratthapark Wilairot  SAG FTR                 + 53.180s
26.  Robertino Pietri     Italtrans Suter         + 57.673s
27.  Steven Odendaal      MS Suter              + 1m12.318s
28.  Ricard Cardus        QMMF Moriwaki         + 1m12.943s
29.  Tommaso Lorenzetti   Castello FTR              + 1 lap
30.  Mashel Al Naimi      QMMF Moriwaki             + 1 lap


     Yuki Takahashi       Gresini Moriwaki          23 laps
     Esteve Rabat         Blusens FTR               19 laps
     Bradley Smith        Tech 3                    15 laps
     Aleix Espargaro      Pons Kalex                 5 laps
     Max Neukirchner      MZ                         5 laps
     Valentin Debise      Speed Up FTR               2 laps
     Julian Simon         Aspar Suter                0 laps
     Mika Kallio          Marc VDS Suter             0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Marquez beats Bradl to Moto2 pole