Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 5 views remaining

You have read 10 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 25 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 25 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Lewis Williamson takes maiden GP3 win on home ground at Silverstone

Lewis Williamson wins at SilverstoneMcLaren AUTOSPORT BRDC Award winner Lewis Williamson scored his first-ever GP3 victory on the morning of the British Grand Prix at Silverstone.

The MW Arden driver, who started from second on the grid, made a terrible getaway and was fourth on the run to Abbey, behind leader Dean Smith (Addax), James Calado (ART) and Nick Yelloly (Atech CRS). But Williamson made a fantastic recovery, passing Yelloly on the way into Abbey and then taking advantage as Smith and Calado compromised each other's lines through Village.

With a clear run, Williamson simply drove around the outside of Calado at The Loop, then lined up Smith into Brooklands. For a moment it looked like they would run three abreast, but as Smith clung to the inside, Williamson drove around the outside of him to grab a lead he would never give up.

He pulled away to a five-second victory, as Smith clung tenaciously to second, repelling Calado's early advances.

As in race one yesterday, the man to watch was Alexander Sims (Status) who charged from fifth to third, grabbing the championship lead as he did so. After an early clash with Manor driver Rio Haryanto at Vale, he passed Yelloly for fourth at Brooklands on lap seven, and the pulled off a brilliant lunge down the inside of Calado at Vale on lap 12 to put himself on the podium.

Haryanto also passed Calado for fourth at Brooklands, while Yelloly just failed to catch Calado by the flag and was forced to settle for sixth.

Other unsung stars of the race were Nigel Melker (Mucke), who charged from the back of the grid to eighth, and Manor's Adrian Quaife-Hobbs, who was forced to start from the pits instead of fifth when his car stalled on the dummy grid. He recovered to finish 15th.

Sims now leads the points by three points from Mitch Evans, who was a first lap retirement when his MW Arden car broke down after charging up to fifth in the opening corners.

Results - 14 laps:

Pos  Driver                  Team         Time/Gap
 1.  Lewis Williamson        MW Arden   26m51.435s
 2.  Dean Smith              Addax        + 5.090s
 3.  Alexander Sims          Status       + 7.202s
 4.  Rio Haryanto            Manor        + 8.178s
 5.  James Calado            ART         + 11.238s
 6.  Nick Yelloly            Atech CRS   + 11.619s
 7.  Conor Daly              Carlin      + 12.080s
 8.  Nigel Melker            RSC Mucke   + 13.051s
 9.  Antonio Felix da Costa  Status      + 14.660s
10.  Simon Trummer           MW Arden    + 20.947s
11.  Nico Muller             Jenzer      + 22.574s
12.  Valtteri Bottas         ART         + 23.987s
13.  Michael Christensen     RSC Mucke   + 25.338s
14.  Gabby Chaves            Addax       + 30.864s
15.  Adrian Quaife-Hobbs     Manor       + 32.965s
16.  Zoel Amberg             Atech CRS   + 35.349s
17.  Pedro Nunes             ART         + 37.013s
18.  Aaro Vainio             Tech 1      + 38.579s
19.  Luciano Bacheta         RSC Mucke   + 39.642s
20.  Tamas Pal Kiss          Tech 1      + 41.457s
21.  Thomas Hylkema          Tech 1      + 41.759s
22.  Vittorio Ghirelli       Jenzer      + 42.038s
23.  Leonardo Cordeiro       Carlin      + 45.566s
24.  Ivan Lukashevich        Status      + 49.993s


     Tom Dillmann            Addax         13 laps
     Marlon Stockinger       Atech CRS      8 laps
     Matias Laine            Manor          3 laps
     Mitch Evans             MW Arden       0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Muller wins bizarre GP3 race
Stewards rescind Calado's penalty
Quaife-Hobbs takes home GP3 pole
Sims quickest in GP3 practice two
Quaife-Hobbs tops wet practice