Find out more about our subscriptions

Bruno Spengler fastest in final DTM practice at the Norisring

Bruno Spengler, HWA Mercedes, Norisring 2011Bruno Spengler set the pace in the final DTM free practice session at the Norisring on Saturday morning.

The Canadian, who lost the championship lead to Martin Tomczyk last time out, went to the top of the times with eight minutes remaining in the session, just seconds after Ralf Schumacher had taken top spot.

Schumacher was a frontrunner throughout the 90 minutes, but he had to settle for third place as Maro Engel's 2008 Mercedes climbed to second just four minutes from the end.

Behind the Mercedes top three lockout, Friday pacesetters Mattias Ekstrom and Oliver Jarvis were next up for Audi. The Abt team-mates had traded blows at the top briefly, before they were bumped down in the final 10 minutes.

Championship leader Tomczyk was sixth in his 2008 Audi, just ahead of former champions Timo Scheider (Audi) and Gary Paffett (Mercedes).

David Coulthard's running came to a premature end when the Scot's C-class ground to a halt with around a quarter of an hour remaining.

Pos  Driver                Team/Car          Time       Gap
 1.  Bruno Spengler        HWA Mercedes      48.138s
 2.  Maro Engel            Mucke Mercedes    48.165s  + 0.027s
 3.  Ralf Schumacher       HWA Mercedes      48.188s  + 0.050s
 4.  Mattias Ekstrom       Abt Audi          48.192s  + 0.054s
 5.  Oliver Jarvis         Abt Audi          48.229s  + 0.091s
 6.  Martin Tomczyk        Phoenix Audi      48.258s  + 0.120s
 7.  Timo Scheider         Abt Audi          48.260s  + 0.122s
 8.  Gary Paffett          HWA Mercedes      48.344s  + 0.206s
 9.  Christian Vietoris    Persson Mercedes  48.360s  + 0.222s
10.  Edoardo Mortara       Rosberg Audi      48.375s  + 0.237s
11.  Jamie Green           HWA Mercedes      48.456s  + 0.318s
12.  Miguel Molina         Abt Audi          48.467s  + 0.329s
13.  Mike Rockenfeller     Abt Audi          48.579s  + 0.441s
14.  Renger van der Zande  Persson Mercedes  48.636s  + 0.498s
15.  Filipe Albuquerque    Rosberg Audi      48.668s  + 0.530s
16.  Susie Stoddart        Persson Mercedes  48.708s  + 0.570s
17.  Rahel Frey            Phoenix Audi      48.747s  + 0.609s
18.  David Coulthard       Mucke Mercedes    48.951s  + 0.813s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Spengler wins at wet Norisring
Rockenfeller: No crash after-effects
Green eyeing another Norisring win
Spengler takes Norisring pole
Ekstrom heads practice at Norisring