Find out more about our subscriptions

Winterbottom makes it a pole double

Mark Winterbottom completed a pole double in qualifying for the second of this weekend's V8 Supercars events at Hidden Valley.

The Ford Performance Racing driver led from pole in Saturday's race until a late restart tangle with Jamie Whincup, Shane van Gisbergen and Lee Holdsworth sent Winterbottom tumbling to 15th and let Rick Kelly win. Whincup, Winterbottom and van Gisbergen have all had 25 points deducted from their tallies as a punishment for that incident.

Championship leader Whincup (Triple Eight Holden) was again Winterbottom's closest rival, missing out on pole by half a tenth in the session. Unlike yesterday's split qualifying and top 10 shoot-out, today's 20-minute session set the whole grid.

Whincup's team-mate Craig Lowndes took third ahead of Holdsworth and a very strong performance from Tony D'Alberto in fifth. Yesterday's winner Kelly was back in 14th.

Pos  Driver               Team/Car             Time        Gap
 1.  Mark Winterbottom    FPR Ford             1m09.7935s
 2.  Jamie Whincup        Triple 8 Holden      1m09.8556s  + 0.0621s
 3.  Craig Lowndes        Triple 8 Holden      1m09.8624s  + 0.0689s
 4.  Lee Holdsworth       Garry Rogers Holden  1m09.9089s  + 0.1154s
 5.  Tony D'Alberto       D'Alberto Ford       1m09.9221s  + 0.1286s
 6.  Will Davison         FPR Ford             1m09.9280s  + 0.1345s
 7.  Tim Slade            Rosenberg/SBR Ford   1m09.9331s  + 0.1396s
 8.  Steven Johnson       Dick Johnson Ford    1m10.0067s  + 0.2132s
 9.  Alex Davison         Stone Brothers Ford  1m10.0298s  + 0.2363s
10.  Russell Ingall       Paul Morris Holden   1m10.0305s  + 0.2370s
11.  Jonathon Webb        Tekno Ford           1m10.1186s  + 0.3251s
12.  Shane van Gisbergen  Stone Brothers Ford  1m10.1219s  + 0.3284s
13.  David Reynolds       Kelly Holden         1m10.1322s  + 0.3387s
14.  Rick Kelly           Kelly Holden         1m10.1338s  + 0.3403s
15.  Garth Tander         HRT Holden           1m10.1567s  + 0.3632s
16.  Fabian Coulthard     Walkinshaw Holden    1m10.1681s  + 0.3746s
17.  Greg Murphy          Kelly Holden         1m10.1766s  + 0.3831s
18.  Jason Bright         Brad Jones Holden    1m10.1881s  + 0.3946s
19.  Paul Dumbrell        Rod Nash/FPR Ford    1m10.2009s  + 0.4074s
20.  Michael Caruso       Garry Rogers Holden  1m10.2202s  + 0.4267s
21.  James Courtney       HRT Holden           1m10.2220s  + 0.4285s
22.  Karl Reindler        Britek/BJR Holden    1m10.3047s  + 0.5112s
23.  Todd Kelly           Kelly Holden         1m10.3243s  + 0.5308s
24.  Warren Luff          Dumbrell Holden      1m10.4014s  + 0.6079s
25.  Dean Fiore           Triple F Ford        1m10.4051s  + 0.6116s
26.  James Moffat         Dick Johnson Ford    1m10.4504s  + 0.6569s
27.  Steve Owen           Paul Morris Holden   1m10.4593s  + 0.6658s
28.  Jason Bargwanna      Brad Jones Holden    1m10.4973s  + 0.7038s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Van Gisbergen charges to victory
Rick Kelly wins as leaders tangle
Winterbottom denies Whincup pole