Find out more about our subscriptions

Tomczyk tops second practice

Martin Tomczyk continued Audi's domination of the Lausitz DTM weekend by setting the pace in second practice at the German circuit.

The Phoenix Racing driver had sat outside the top 10 for much of the 90-minute session, but took his old-spec A4 to the top of the timesheets in 1m18.912s with six minutes remaining, during which time the whole field were trying qualifying runs.

His time knocked Filipe Albuquerque's similar Team Rosberg-run car off the top spot by 0.128s, with Oliver Jarvis improving from fourth to third in the final minute in the best of the newer-spec Abt Audis.

Jamie Green was the best Mercedes driver in fourth in his HWA machine, ahead of the Abt Audis of Miguel Molina and two-time series champion Timo Scheider.

Championship leader Bruno Spengler was next up in seventh, ahead of his HWA team-mate Gary Paffett and the Persson Mercedes of Christian Vietoris, which had held the top spot for much of the first hour.

Edoardo Mortara brushed the wall in his Rosberg Audi with 20 minutes to go and then had a spin at Turn 5. He ended up 14th fastest, two places behind Ralf Schumacher and three ahead of David Coulthard.

Pos  Driver                Team/Car          Time       Gap
 1.  Martin Tomczyk        Phoenix Audi      1m18.912s
 2.  Filipe Albuquerque    Rosberg Audi      1m19.040s  + 0.128s
 3.  Oliver Jarvis         Abt Audi          1m19.098s  + 0.186s
 4.  Jamie Green           HWA Mercedes      1m19.198s  + 0.286s
 5.  Miguel Molina         Abt Audi          1m19.238s  + 0.326s
 6.  Timo Scheider         Abt Audi          1m19.248s  + 0.336s
 7.  Bruno Spengler        HWA Mercedes      1m19.323s  + 0.411s
 8.  Gary Paffett          HWA Mercedes      1m19.381s  + 0.469s
 9.  Christian Vietoris    Persson Mercedes  1m19.390s  + 0.478s
10.  Mattias Ekstrom       Abt Audi          1m19.417s  + 0.505s
11.  Susie Stoddart        Persson Mercedes  1m19.456s  + 0.544s
12.  Ralf Schumacher       HWA Mercedes      1m19.478s  + 0.566s
13.  Tom Kristensen        Abt Audi          1m19.526s  + 0.614s
14.  Edoardo Mortara       Rosberg Audi      1m19.578s  + 0.666s
15.  Renger van der Zande  Persson Mercedes  1m19.689s  + 0.777s
16.  Maro Engel            Mucke Mercedes    1m19.701s  + 0.789s
17.  David Coulthard       Mucke Mercedes    1m19.774s  + 0.862s
18.  Rahel Frey            Phoenix Audi      1m20.060s  + 1.148s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Tomczyk: Lausitz win was easy
Tomczyk wins again at Lausitz
Scheider tops Lausitz warm-up
Kristensen wanted more in qualifying
Q & A: Kristensen on his DTM return
Spengler on Lausitz pole
Kristensen tops first Lausitz practice