Find out more about our subscriptions

Vinales takes maiden 125cc pole

Rising star Maverick Vinales claimed his first 125cc pole position after a tight battle with championship leader Nico Terol at Silverstone.

Terol had hung back at first, allowing Vinales and Johann Zarco - the only men to beat him on the road this year - to fight it out for pole.

Just after half-distance, Terol thrust his Aspar Aprilia to the front with a time nearly a second clear of his rivals, as has been his habit in qualifying so far this year.

For most of the season that has been the end of the story, but this time Vinales fought back, getting ever closer to Terol before reclaiming provisional pole with a 2m14.684s, putting him nearly 0.4 seconds clear of Terol at the time.

The points leader soon retaliated and closed to within a few fractions of Vinales, but could not beat the Spanish rookie.

Zarco completed the front row after a late exchange of places with Efren Vazquez.

Pos  Rider                Team/Bike          Time       Gap
 1.  Maverick Vinales     Blusens Aprilia    2m14.684s
 2.  Nicolas Terol        Aspar Aprilia      2m14.720s  + 0.036s
 3.  Johann Zarco         Ajo Derbi          2m15.266s  + 0.582s
 4.  Efren Vazquez        Ajo Derbi          2m15.284s  + 0.600s
 5.  Sandro Cortese       Germany Aprilia    2m15.589s  + 0.905s
 6.  Luis Salom           RW Aprilia         2m15.713s  + 1.029s
 7.  Hector Faubel        Aspar Aprilia      2m15.747s  + 1.063s
 8.  Jonas Folger         Ajo Aprilia        2m16.073s  + 1.389s
 9.  Alberto Moncayo      Andalucia Aprilia  2m16.250s  + 1.566s
10.  Sergio Gadea         Blusens Aprilia    2m16.274s  + 1.590s
11.  Adrian Martin        Aspar Aprilia      2m16.743s  + 2.059s
12.  Danny Kent           Ajo Aprilia        2m17.038s  + 2.354s
13.  Simone Grotzkyj      Phonica Aprilia    2m17.298s  + 2.614s
14.  Zulfahmi Khairuddin  Ajo Derbi          2m17.468s  + 2.784s
15.  Danny Webb           Mahindra           2m17.677s  + 2.993s
16.  Jakub Kornfeil       Ongetta Aprilia    2m17.751s  + 3.067s
17.  Sturla Fagerhaug     WTR-Ten10 Aprilia  2m17.766s  + 3.082s
18.  Jasper Iwema         Ongetta Aprilia    2m17.784s  + 3.100s
19.  Louis Rossi          Matteoni Aprilia   2m18.001s  + 3.317s
20.  Alexis Masbou        Caretta KTM        2m18.076s  + 3.392s
21.  Niklas Ajo           TT Motion Aprilia  2m18.259s  + 3.575s
22.  Marcel Schrotter     Mahindra           2m18.674s  + 3.990s
23.  Harry Stafford       Ongetta Aprilia    2m18.906s  + 4.222s
24.  Giulian Pedone       Phonica Aprilia    2m19.421s  + 4.737s
25.  Peter Sebestyen      Caretta KTM        2m19.539s  + 4.855s
26.  Taylor Mackenzie     Phonica Aprilia    2m19.619s  + 4.935s
27.  Alessandro Tonucci   Italia Aprilia     2m19.875s  + 5.191s
28.  Luigi Morciano       Italia Aprilia     2m20.308s  + 5.624s
29.  Joan Perello         Matteoni Aprilia   2m20.879s  + 6.195s
30.  John McPhee          KRP Aprilia        2m21.235s  + 6.551s
31.  Francesco Mauriello  WTR-Ten10 Aprilia  2m22.012s  + 7.328s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Folger takes first 125cc victory