Find out more about our subscriptions

Muller/Enge win qualifying race

Alex Muller and Tomas Enge celebrate Silverstone victoryAlex Muller and Tomas Enge claimed victory for the Young Driver Aston Martin squad in the qualifying race for tomorrow's Silverstone round of the FIA GT1 World Championship.

Muller trailed Lucas Luhr in the best of the JR Motorsports Nissans through the first half of the one-hour race, but a quick turn-around by the Young Driver crew, and two quick laps from Enge before Luhr pitted, sealed the victory for the German-run team.

The Nissan now driven by Michael Krumm rejoined nearly six seconds behind the Aston and did not make significant inroads on the lead until Enge backed off in the final stages.

Muller said: "It was impossible to pass the Nissan, so I waited for the pitstops and hoped for a good stop. The guys did a great job, otherwise we wouldn't have been ahead."

The Selleslagh-run Team China Chevrolet Corvette driven by Andi Zuber and Mike Hezemans finished third. Zuber started from pole after Hezemans topped the qualifying times, but dropped to third when he missed his shift from second to third.

Fourth place went to Sumo Power Nissan shared by Enrique Bernoldi and Warren Hughes. The leading finishers from the Hexis Aston Martin and All-Inkl Lamborghini teams rounded out the top six.

While a Young Driver Aston and a JRM Nissan finished first and second, their team-mates were eliminated in a first-lap crash caused when Sumo Power Nissan driver David Brabham tagged the Darren Turner/Stefan Mucke Aston into a spin, which collected the second JRM car driven by Peter Dumbreck.

Tomorrow's race for the famous Tourist Trophy starts at 2.45pm.

Results - 30 laps:

Pos  Drivers                  Team/Car                  Time/Gap
 1.  Enge/Muller              Young Driver Aston    1h01m48.056s
 2.  Krumm/Luhr               JRM Nissan                + 1.840s
 3.  Hezemans/Zuber           China Corvette           + 18.923s
 4.  Hughes/Bernoldi          Sumo Power Nissan        + 26.681s
 5.  Dusseldorp/Piccione      Hexis Aston              + 32.758s
 6.  Pastorelli/Schwager      All-Inkl Lamborghini     + 55.936s
 7.  Ickx/Nygaard             Belgian Ford           + 1m21.843s
 8.  Leclerc/Palttala         Belgian Ford           + 1m41.562s
 9.  Enjalbert/Rossi          DKR Corvette           + 1m50.177s
10.  Hohenadel/Piccini        Hexis Aston                + 1 lap


     Leinders/Hennerici       Marc VDS Ford              23 laps
     Makowiecki/Martin        Marc VDS Ford              12 laps
     Basseng/Winkelhock       All-Inkl Lamborghini        8 laps
     Campbell-Walter/Brabham  Sumo Power Nissan            1 lap
     Mucke/Turner             Young Driver Aston           1 lap
     Westbrook/Dumbreck       JRM Nissan                  0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Luhr/Krumm win dramatic TT
Hezemans puts Corvette on pole