Find out more about our subscriptions

Penalty costs van der Garde pole

Van der Garde loses pole after penaltyThree drivers have been given grid penalties for Friday's feature race in Monaco, with Giedo van der Garde losing his pole position.

After a crazy qualifying session on Thursday, pole setter van der Garde, Frenchman Romain Grosjean and Swede Marcus Ericsson were penalised for having caused collisions.

Van der Garde will start from sixth place after having crashed with Oliver Turvey during the session.

Grosjean was penalised for a crash with his DAMS team-mate Pal Varhaug, although the Frenchman had not set a time and would have started from the back anyway.

Ericsson, meanwhile, crashed into the back of his iSport team-mate Sam Bird and will start from 20th position.

As a result of the penalties, Bird will start the race from pole.

Starting grid for feature race:

Pos  Driver                Team                      
 1.  Sam Bird              iSport International        
 2.  Davide Valsecchi      Team AirAsia                
 3.  Alvaro Parente        Racing Engineering          
 4.  Stefano Coletti       Trident Racing              
 5.  Josef Kral            Arden International         
 6.  G.van der Garde       Barwa Addax Team            
 7.  Max Chilton           Carlin                      
 8.  Jules Bianchi         Lotus ART                   
 9.  E.Gutierrez           Lotus ART                   
10.  J.Cecotto Jr.         Ocean Racing Technology     
11.  Luca Filippi          Super Nova Racing           
12.  Charles Pic           Barwa Addax Team            
13.  Rodolfo Gonzalez      Trident Racing              
14.  Fabio Leimer          Rapax                       
15.  Oliver Turvey         Carlin                      
16.  Luiz Razia            Team AirAsia                
17.  Daniel Clos           Racing Engineering          
18.  Jolyon Palmer         Arden International         
19.  Julian Leal           Rapax                       
20.  Marcus Ericsson       iSport International        
21.  Kevin Ceccon          Scuderia Coloni             
22.  Fairuz Fauzy          Super Nova Racing           
23.  Kevin Mirocha         Ocean Racing Technology     
24.  Michael Herck         Scuderia Coloni             
25.  Pal Varhaug           DAMS                        
26.  Romain Grosjean       DAMS                        
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Pic dominates Monaco race two
Turvey loses race two front row
Valsecchi takes Monaco victory
Monaco stewards slam GP2 drivers
Van der Garde tops crazy session
Grosjean dominates practice