Find out more about our subscriptions

Vinales ends Terol's winning run

Maverick Vinales leads Nico Terol at Le MansMaverick Vinales took a superb maiden 125cc victory in only his fourth series start at Le Mans, beating hitherto dominant championship leader Nico Terol in a final-corner shoot-out.

Having been unbeatable so far this year, Terol looked like he was on course for another easy victory at first, but Vinales was able to cling on behind him.

The pair worked together to break away from the pack, allowing each other past on several occasions, before Terol made what he hoped would be the decisive move with four laps to go.

He could not shake off Vinales, though, with the 16-year-old Blusens Aprilia rider all over the back of Terol's Aspar Aprilia around the last lap.

At the final corner, Terol made a slight error and Vinales was able to slice down the inside and win a drag race to the line by just 0.048 seconds.

What began as an eight-bike tussle for third was finally won by Efren Vazquez, the Ajo Derbi rider gaining his first podium of 2011. He broke away from Terol's team-mate Hector Faubel and fellow Ajo man Johann Zarco, with Jonas Folger and Sandro Cortese chasing them home.

Results - 24 laps:

Pos  Rider                Team/Bike             Time/Gap
 1.  Maverick Vinales     Blusens Aprilia     42m00.505s
 2.  Nicolas Terol        Aspar Aprilia         + 0.048s
 3.  Efren Vazquez        Ajo Derbi             + 6.836s
 4.  Hector Faubel        Aspar Aprilia         + 8.298s
 5.  Johann Zarco         Ajo Derbi             + 8.590s
 6.  Jonas Folger         Ajo Aprilia          + 10.236s
 7.  Sandro Cortese       Germany Aprilia      + 10.667s
 8.  Sergio Gadea         Blusens Aprilia      + 15.642s
 9.  Miguel Oliveira      Andalucia Aprilia    + 22.838s
10.  Luis Salom           RW Aprilia           + 30.901s
11.  Alberto Moncayo      Andalucia Aprilia    + 33.796s
12.  Simone Grotzkyj      Phonica Aprilia      + 34.413s
13.  Louis Rossi          Matteoni Aprilia     + 34.696s
14.  Adrian Martin        Aspar Aprilia        + 41.236s
15.  Alexis Masbou        WTR-Ten10 Aprilia    + 56.943s
16.  Hiroki Ono           Caretta KTM          + 57.409s
17.  Danny Kent           Ajo Aprilia          + 57.763s
18.  Jasper Iwema         Ongetta Aprilia      + 57.823s
19.  Zulfahmi Khairuddin  Ajo Derbi            + 57.884s
20.  Luigi Morciano       Italia Aprilia     + 1m02.089s
21.  Jakub Kornfeil       Ongetta Aprilia    + 1m02.713s
22.  Taylor Mackenzie     Phonica Aprilia    + 1m25.418s
23.  Giulian Pedone       Phonica Aprilia    + 1m42.498s
24.  Francesco Mauriello  WTR-Ten10 Aprilia  + 1m43.885s
25.  Peter Sebestyen      Caretta KTM        + 1m44.903s
26.  Alessandro Tonucci   Italia Aprilia     + 1m45.356s
27.  Kevin Szalai         MVT Aprilia            + 1 lap
28.  Kevin Thobois        RMS Honda              + 1 lap


     Joan Perello         Matteoni Aprilia       20 laps
     Danny Webb           Mahindra               17 laps
     Marcel Schrotter     Mahindra               17 laps
     Harry Stafford       Ongetta Aprilia        13 laps
     Niklas Ajo           TT Motion Aprilia       3 laps
Daytona Competition
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Terol takes third pole of season