Find out more about our subscriptions

Scheider quickest in practice again

Timo Scheider, Abt Audi, Zandvoort 2011Timo Scheider again headed the timesheets in the second free practice session ahead of Zandvoort's DTM round.

The Abt Audi driver had not featured near the front at all during the 90-minute session, but, after venturing onto the track for a low-fuel run with just a few minutes remaining, set the pace in 1m31.718s - a second faster than his Friday pace.

Jamie Green made certain that there was a Mercedes near the front as he was only 0.183s slower in his HWA machine - despite a major lock-up at the Tarzan hairpin late on - while Scheider's team-mate Mike Rockenfeller was third.

Miguel Molina headed the times for over an hour, the Abt Audi man's older-spec A4 looking among the most consistent cars on race runs. He improved his time by 0.3s late on to go fourth, just ahead of the similar machines of Edoardo Mortara (Team Rosberg) and Martin Tomczyk (Phoenix Racing).

Championship leader Bruno Spengler knocked Molina off the top spot with eight minutes to go, but the HWA man was shuffled back to seventh by the end, just ahead of Filipe Albuquerque (Rosberg Audi), Mattias Ekstrom (Abt Audi) and Ralf Schumacher (HWA Mercedes).

It was a bad session for David Coulthard. After the Mucke driver put in the quickest Mercedes time on Friday, this time he understeered off into the gravel at Kumhobocht with 20 minutes gone and had only limited running afterwards.

Pos  Driver                Team/Car          Time       Gap
 1.  Timo Scheider         Abt Audi          1m31.718s
 2.  Jamie Green           HWA Mercedes      1m31.901s  + 0.183s
 3.  Mike Rockenfeller     Abt Audi          1m31.907s  + 0.189s
 4.  Miguel Molina         Abt Audi          1m32.053s  + 0.335s
 5.  Edoardo Mortara       Rosberg Audi      1m32.064s  + 0.346s
 6.  Martin Tomczyk        Phoenix Audi      1m32.131s  + 0.413s
 7.  Bruno Spengler        HWA Mercedes      1m32.139s  + 0.421s
 8.  Filipe Albuquerque    Rosberg Audi      1m32.154s  + 0.436s
 9.  Mattias Ekstrom       Abt Audi          1m32.170s  + 0.452s
10.  Ralf Schumacher       HWA Mercedes      1m32.203s  + 0.485s
11.  Oliver Jarvis         Abt Audi          1m32.329s  + 0.611s
12.  Gary Paffett          HWA Mercedes      1m32.569s  + 0.851s
13.  Renger van der Zande  Persson Mercedes  1m32.713s  + 0.995s
14.  Christian Vietoris    Persson Mercedes  1m32.728s  + 1.010s
15.  Maro Engel            Mucke Mercedes    1m32.779s  + 1.061s
16.  Susie Stoddart        Persson Mercedes  1m32.947s  + 1.229s
17.  Rahel Frey            Phoenix Audi      1m33.381s  + 1.663s
18.  David Coulthard       Mucke Mercedes    1m33.456s  + 1.738s
British GP competition
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Spengler: Radio problem cost me win
Rockenfeller delighted with victory
Rockenfeller takes first DTM victory
Scheider heads Zandvoort warm-up
Ekstrom confident of strong race
Spengler on pole again in Holland
Scheider leads Audi practice sweep