Find out more about our subscriptions

Scheider leads Audi practice sweep

Timo Scheider, Abt Audi, Zandvoort 2011Timo Scheider set the pace in the first DTM free practice session at Zandvoort, leading an all-Audi clean sweep of the top four positions.

The Abt driver completed just 22 laps during the 90-minute session, the fourth lowest total of the entire field. But that did not stop him going fastest with a late effort of 1m32.708s.

Fresh from his heroics at Hockenheim a fortnight ago, Martin Tomczyk was once more the best of the drivers in old-spec machinery, the Phoenix driver 0.474s slower than Scheider.

Swede Mattias Ekstrom (Abt) and Italian Edoardo Mortara (Rosberg) were next up in their 2009 and '08-spec A4s while David Coulthard was surprisingly the best of the Mercedes drivers in fifth in his older-spec C-class.

In fact, the older Mercedes had the edge on the more recent model as Persson drivers Christian Vietoris and Renger van der Zande both outpaced HWA's Jamie Green and Gary Paffett.

Oliver Jarvis (Abt) completed the top 10 ahead of championship leader Bruno Spengler's HWA Mercedes.

Pos  Driver                Team/Car          Time       Gap
 1.  Timo Scheider         Abt Audi          1m32.708s
 2.  Martin Tomczyk        Phoenix Audi      1m33.182s  + 0.474s
 3.  Mattias Ekstrom       Abt Audi          1m33.298s  + 0.590s
 4.  Edoardo Mortara       Rosberg Audi      1m33.409s  + 0.701s
 5.  David Coulthard       Mucke Mercedes    1m33.416s  + 0.708s
 6.  Christian Vietoris    Persson Mercedes  1m33.505s  + 0.797s
 7.  Renger van der Zande  Persson Mercedes  1m33.656s  + 0.948s
 8.  Jamie Green           HWA Mercedes      1m33.732s  + 1.024s
 9.  Gary Paffett          HWA Mercedes      1m33.864s  + 1.156s
10.  Oliver Jarvis         Abt Audi          1m33.916s  + 1.208s
11.  Bruno Spengler        HWA Mercedes      1m33.919s  + 1.211s
12.  Mike Rockenfeller     Abt Audi          1m34.040s  + 1.332s
13.  Filipe Albuquerque    Rosberg Audi      1m34.048s  + 1.340s
14.  Maro Engel            Mucke Mercedes    1m34.311s  + 1.603s
15.  Miguel Molina         Abt Audi          1m34.371s  + 1.663s
16.  Susie Stoddart        Persson Mercedes  1m34.524s  + 1.816s
17.  Ralf Schumacher       HWA Mercedes      1m34.555s  + 1.847s
18.  Rahel Frey            Phoenix Audi      1m35.471s  + 2.763s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Spengler: Radio problem cost me win
Rockenfeller delighted with victory
Rockenfeller takes first DTM victory
Scheider heads Zandvoort warm-up
Ekstrom confident of strong race
Spengler on pole again in Holland
Scheider quickest in practice again