Find out more about our subscriptions

Terol remains unbeaten in 125cc

Nico Terol continued his absolute domination of the 2011 125cc world championship with a crushing Portuguese Grand Prix win.

The Aspar Aprilia rider was in a league of his own again as he swept to his third win in three races. By lap five he was already six seconds clear of the field and calmly protected that advantage for the rest of the distance.

The battle for second - which initially involved nine riders - provided much more entertainment.

In the middle of the race, Terol's experienced team-mate Hector Faubel and Team Germany's Sandro Cortese broke away and made it a private tussle, but they were later reeled in by Maverick Vinales and Johann Zarco - with teenage rookie Vinales surging from fourth to second in a single move at one point.

Pushing hard to fend off Vinales, Faubel crashed out of third in the closing stages, slightly delaying Vinales and allowing Cortese to get a small cushion in second place. Zarco then managed to get past Vinales on the final dash to the line, taking the last podium spot by just 0.002 seconds.

Jonas Folger was a relatively lonely fifth ahead of Efren Vazquez and local favourite Miguel Oliveira.

Results - 23 laps:

Pos  Rider                Team/Bike             Time/Gap
 1.  Nicolas Terol        Aspar Aprilia       41m21.986s
 2.  Sandro Cortese       Germany Aprilia       + 3.671s
 3.  Johann Zarco         Ajo Derbi             + 4.466s
 4.  Maverick Viņales     Blusens Aprilia       + 4.468s
 5.  Jonas Folger         Ajo Aprilia          + 12.140s
 6.  Efren Vazquez        Ajo Derbi            + 20.304s
 7.  Miguel Oliveira      Andalucia Aprilia    + 25.905s
 8.  Luis Salom           RW Aprilia           + 46.316s
 9.  Adrian Martin        Aspar Aprilia        + 46.395s
10.  Simone Grotzkyj      Phonica Aprilia      + 49.447s
11.  Zulfahmi Khairuddin  Ajo Derbi            + 51.071s
12.  Sergio Gadea         Blusens Aprilia    + 1m00.365s
13.  Jakub Kornfeil       Ongetta Aprilia    + 1m00.479s
14.  Niklas Ajo           TT Motion Aprilia  + 1m11.738s
15.  Danny Kent           Ajo Aprilia        + 1m13.752s
16.  Danny Webb           Mahindra           + 1m15.357s
17.  Hiroki Ono           Caretta KTM        + 1m18.155s
18.  Marcel Schrotter     Mahindra           + 1m27.900s
19.  Giulian Pedone       Phonica Aprilia    + 1m32.623s
20.  Joan Perello         Matteoni Aprilia   + 1m35.088s
21.  Luigi Morciano       Italia Aprilia         + 1 lap
22.  Kevin Hanus          Hanusch Honda          + 1 lap
23.  Peter Sebestyen      Caretta KTM            + 1 lap
24.  Sarath Kumar         WTR-Ten10 Aprilia     + 2 laps


     Hector Faubel        Aspar Aprilia          19 laps
     Harry Stafford       Ongetta Aprilia        18 laps
     Jasper Iwema         Ongetta Aprilia        12 laps
     Francesco Mauriello  WTR-Ten10 Aprilia       8 laps
     Louis Rossi          Matteoni Aprilia        6 laps
     Alberto Moncayo      Andalucia Aprilia       4 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Terol dominates 125cc qualifying