Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Whincup adds two more poles

Jamie Whincup, Triple 8 Holden, Barbagallo 2011Jamie Whincup secured another two pole positions in final qualifying for this weekend's V8 Supercar event at Barbagallo.

The grids for both races two and three were set in a busy 20-minute session this morning, with drivers' fastest times counting for the race two starting order and second-fastest times forming the race three line-up.

The top three will be the same for both, with Whincup on pole ahead of Jason Bright's Brad Jones Racing Holden, and Whincup's Triple 8 Holden team-mate Craig Lowndes in third.

HRT's Garth Tander had a much better qualifying session than yesterday to take fifth for race two, behind leading Ford driver Alex Davison (Stone Brothers) and fourth for race three. Tander's team-mate James Courtney completes the race three top five.

The two 50-lap races will be run on soft tyres, unlike Saturday's hard tyre event, which saw Whincup lead Lowndes home in a Triple 8 one-two.

Pos  Driver               Team/Car               Time      Gap
 1.  Jamie Whincup        Triple 8 Holden        54.9898s
 2.  Jason Bright         Brad Jones Holden      55.1614s  + 0.1716s
 3.  Craig Lowndes        Triple 8 Holden        55.3178s  + 0.3280s
 4.  Alex Davison         Stone Brothers Ford    55.3445s  + 0.3547s
 5.  Garth Tander         HRT Holden             55.3548s  + 0.3650s
 6.  Steven Johnson       Dick Johnson Ford      55.3631s  + 0.3733s
 7.  Jason Bargwanna      Brad Jones Holden      55.3666s  + 0.3768s
 8.  Will Davison         FPR Ford               55.4050s  + 0.4152s
 9.  James Courtney       HRT Holden             55.4377s  + 0.4479s
10.  Lee Holdsworth       Garry Rodgers Holden   55.4447s  + 0.4549s
11.  Mark Winterbottom    FPR Ford               55.4461s  + 0.4563s
12.  James Moffat         Dick Johnson Ford      55.4604s  + 0.4706s
13.  Karl Reindler        Birtek Holden          55.5029s  + 0.5131s
14.  Rick Kelly           Kelly Holden           55.5545s  + 0.5647s
15.  Tony D'Alberto       D'Alberto Holden       55.5648s  + 0.5750s
16.  Fabian Coulthard     Walkinshaw Holden      55.5788s  + 0.5890s
17.  Tim Slade            Stone Brothers Ford    55.5830s  + 0.5932s
18.  Greg Murphy          Kelly Holden           55.5879s  + 0.5981s
19.  Michael Caruso       Garry Rodgers Holden   55.6119s  + 0.6221s
20.  Shane van Gisbergen  Stone Brothers Ford    55.6239s  + 0.6341s
21.  Paul Dumbrell        Rod Nash Ford          55.6656s  + 0.6758s
22.  Jonathon Webb        Tekno Ford             55.7658s  + 0.7760s
23.  Dean Fiore           Triple F Ford          55.8213s  + 0.8315s
24.  Russell Ingall       Paul Morris Holden     55.8815s  + 0.8917s
25.  Steve Owen           Paul Morris Holden     55.8929s  + 0.9031s
26.  David Reynolds       Kelly Holden           55.8995s  + 0.9097s
27.  Todd Kelly           Kelly Holden           55.9244s  + 0.9346s
28.  Warren Luff          Lucas Dumbrell Holden  55.9347s  + 0.9449s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Reindler, Owen escape serious injury
Whincup back on top in race three
Bright scores BJR's first V8 win
Whincup leads Triple 8 one-two
Whincup takes pole for race one