Find out more about our subscriptions

Hunter-Reay fastest in first session

Ryan Hunter-Reay, Andretti, St Petersburg practiceAndretti Autosport's Ryan Hunter-Reay was quickest in the first IndyCar practice session of the season in St Petersburg.

The American jumped to the top with his last lap, a 1m04.1437s that placed him 0.0388 seconds ahead of 2010 championship runner-up Will Power's Penske entry.

Mike Conway made it two Andretti cars in the top three with his late leap to third, as the Briton builds towards his first race back following his horrific crash in last year's Indianapolis 500.

Long-time pacesetter Scott Dixon was fourth in the end, with his Ganassi team-mate and reigning champion Dario Franchitti sixth between Penske's Ryan Briscoe and Helio Castroneves.

EJ Viso was the quickest KV driver in eighth but also had the morning's only incident, when he crashed on the exit of Turn 3 in the final moments.

KV's last-minute recruit Tony Kanaan quickly settled into his new surroundings with 12th place, just behind team-mate Takuma Sato.

Andretti's Marco Andretti and Dreyer & Reinbold's Justin Wilson - who led the timesheets for a while - filled the final top-10 positions. Sebastien Bourdais was back in 20th in the Dale Coyne car.

Pos  Driver               Team               Time        Gap
 1.  Ryan Hunter-Reay     Andretti           1m04.1437s
 2.  Will Power           Penske             1m04.1825s  + 0.0388s
 3.  Mike Conway          Andretti           1m04.2228s  + 0.0791s
 4.  Scott Dixon          Ganassi            1m04.3184s  + 0.1747s
 5.  Ryan Briscoe         Penske             1m04.3525s  + 0.2088s
 6.  Dario Franchitti     Ganassi            1m04.3643s  + 0.2206s
 7.  Helio Castroneves    Penske             1m04.4215s  + 0.2778s
 8.  EJ Viso              KV                 1m04.5397s  + 0.3960s
 9.  Marco Andretti       Andretti           1m04.6672s  + 0.5235s
10.  Justin Wilson        Dreyer & Reinbold  1m04.7114s  + 0.5677s
11.  Takuma Sato          KV                 1m04.7668s  + 0.6231s
12.  Tony Kanaan          KV                 1m04.8591s  + 0.7154s
13.  Oriol Servia         Newman/Haas        1m04.9504s  + 0.8067s
14.  Alex Tagliani        Schmidt            1m04.9827s  + 0.8390s
15.  Graham Rahal         Ganassi            1m04.9983s  + 0.8546s
16.  Raphael Matos        AFS                1m05.1760s  + 1.0323s
17.  Sebastian Saavedra   Conquest           1m05.2207s  + 1.0770s
18.  Vitor Meira          Foyt               1m05.2705s  + 1.1268s
19.  Danica Patrick       Andretti           1m05.4240s  + 1.2803s
20.  Sebastien Bourdais   Dale Coyne         1m05.5265s  + 1.3828s
21.  James Jakes          Dale Coyne         1m05.9182s  + 1.7745s
22.  Charlie Kimball      Ganassi            1m05.9305s  + 1.7868s
23.  JR Hildebrand        Panther            1m05.9704s  + 1.8267s
24.  Ana Beatriz          Dreyer & Reinbold  1m07.2488s  + 3.1051s
25.  Simona de Silvestro  HVM                1m07.5267s  + 3.3830s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Franchitti dominates in St Pete
Bourdais ruled out of IndyCar opener
Bourdais crashes heavily in warm-up
Power takes St Petersburg pole
Power stays on top in practice three
Power leads second St Pete practice