Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 10 stories this month. After 20, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 20 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Andrew Van de Burgt
Editor in Chief
Find out more about our subscriptions

Bouffier closes on Monte Carlo win

Bryan Bouffier, Peugeot, Monte Carlo 2011Bryan Bouffier remains on course for Monte Carlo Rally victory with two stages to go, as new second-place man Freddy Loix was only able to trim a few seconds from his lead on tonight's first loop.

Conditions have remained dry and relatively ice-free for tonight's deciding stages, and sixth and fourth-fastest times on the first two tests saw Peugeot's Bouffier maintain a 47.7-second lead over Skoda driver Loix, who eased past Francois Delecour for second on SS10.

"I'm having lots of fun, the car is good and I hope it stays like this, it's perfect," said Bouffier.

Delecour is still third, but Guy Wilks is now just 5.9s behind him. The veteran Frenchmen lost nearly half a minute to the stage winners on both SS10 and SS11, and is now convinced that his Peugeot 207 is down on power.

"It has to be the engine," said Delecour. "All the time we are going downhill, I'm very fast. I'm going flat-out."

Stephane Sarrazin was on course to take third from Delecour, having already overhauled Wilks for fourth on SS10, only for his Peugeot to get stuck in fourth gear late on SS11. He is now 14s behind Wilks, and half a minute ahead of former leader Juho Hanninen.

Petter Solberg remains seventh and admitted that he was not at maximum speed with little chance of catching anyone ahead.

"We are pushing, we don't want to go slow," said Solberg. "But of course it is different, that's for sure. I was really on it yesterday, but this is part of the game."

Both tonight's first two stages were won by drivers further down the order. Eighth-placed Nicolas Vouilloz and 11th-placed Giandomenico Basso took a fastest time each as they picked up speed after their difficult starts to the week.

Toni Gardemeister had a scare on SS10 when his Peugeot's throttle began to stick, but he made it safely through both stages and stays 10th behind Jan Kopecky.

Pos  Driver             Car        Time/Gap
 1.  Bryan Bouffier     Peugeot  3h02m47.5s
 2.  Freddy Loix        Skoda       + 47.7s
 3.  Francois Delecour  Peugeot   + 1m22.2s
 4.  Guy Wilks          Peugeot   + 1m28.1s
 5.  Stephane Sarrazin  Peugeot   + 1m42.3s
 6.  Juho Hanninen      Skoda     + 2m12.0s
 7.  Petter Solberg     Peugeot   + 3m45.2s
 8.  Nicolas Vouilloz   Skoda     + 5m23.7s
 9.  Jan Kopecky        Skoda     + 7m57.2s
10.  Toni Gardemeister  Peugeot   + 9m01.8s
British GP competition
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Skoda: Mikkelsen learned from error
Q & A: Wilks on Monte Carlo
Peugeot defends Monte team orders
Elena thrilled to finish Monte
Solberg impresses Peugeot in Monte
Sarrazin hands podium to Wilks
Solberg retires on final road section
Bouffier clinches Monte Carlo victory
Bouffier extends Monte Carlo lead
Bouffier leads into final day of Monte
Bouffier takes lead amid snow chaos
Hanninen: Solberg isn't beaten yet
Solberg willing to gamble for victory
Snow prompts Monte tyre dilemma
Hanninen stays on top in Monte Carlo
Andersson upbeat despite early exit
Delecour: S2000 is not easy
Q & A: Hanninen on his Monte start
Hanninen dominates Monte day one
Caffi enjoying rallying debut
Hanninen thrilled with 'perfect start'
Solberg says he's still settling in
Flying Hanninen takes Monte lead
Heavy snow expected for Monte finish
Mikkelsen delayed in early incident
Q & A: Mikkelsen on his Skoda debut