Find out more about our subscriptions

Huff fastest again in Macau practice

Rob HuffRob Huff maintained his advantage in the final free practice session for the World Touring Car finale in Macau on Friday.

Following delays caused by repairs needing to be made to a crash barrier following an accident in a support race session, final practice got underway almost two hours later than scheduled - but Huff was the fastest man throughout. He ended it more than half a second clear of Chevrolet team-mate Yvan Muller.

"That's three out of three - but now I have to get it right in qualifying," the Briton said. "The track is getting faster and faster, but it is not improving as much as we had expected from yesterday.

"We've made some changes to the car and feel happy - and I feel very comfortable out there. Let's hope we don't get any bad luck with yellow or red flags in qualifying now."

SEAT's Tiago Monteiro was third quickest in the session, which managed to run all the way through without a red flag, while fourth fastest Tom Coronel brought his SEAT into the pits early because he was happy with the set-up he had found.

BMW's Andy Priaulx, a former winner of the Guia race, was fifth ahead of Chevrolet's Alain Menu and local driver Darryl O'Young's Lacetti.

The only notable incidents during the session were when Mehdi Bennani spun and crashed his BMW at R Bend, and Fredy Barth hit the barriers and stopped on track at Faraway.

Pos Driver                Car          Time       Gap   Laps
 1. Rob Huff              Chevrolet    2m32.751s           7
 2. Yvan Muller           Chevrolet    2m33.264s  0.513    8
 3. Tiago Monteiro        SEAT         2m33.272s  0.521    8
 4. Tom Coronel           SEAT         2m33.484s  0.733    6
 5. Andy Priaulx          BMW          2m33.668s  0.917   10
 6. Alain Menu            Chevrolet    2m33.993s  1.242    8
 7. Darryl O'Young        Chevrolet    2m34.121s  1.370    9
 8. Augusto Farfus        BMW          2m34.156s  1.405    9
 9. Gabriele Tarquini     SEAT         2m34.171s  1.420   11
10. Andre Couto           SEAT         2m34.631s  1.880   10
11. Norbert Michelisz     SEAT         2m34.859s  2.108   11
12. Kristian Poulsen      BMW          2m35.248s  2.497   10
13. Sergio Hernandez      BMW          2m35.998s  3.247    7
14. Fredy Barth           SEAT         2m36.325s  3.574    5
15. Franz Engstler        BMW          2m36.363s  3.612    7
16. Cesar Campanico       BMW          2m36.585s  3.834    8
17. Nobuteru Taniguchi    BMW          2m37.269s  4.518   10
18. Colin Turkington      BMW          2m37.423s  4.672    9
19. Yukinori Taniguchi    Chevrolet    2m38.370s  5.619   11
20. Kevin Chen            BMW          2m38.553s  5.802    9
21. Michel Nykjaer        SEAT         2m38.595s  5.844    8
22. Andrey Romanov        BMW          2m38.948s  6.197   11
23. Henry Ho              BMW          2m40.392s  7.641   10
24. Philip Ma             Honda        2m44.157s  11.406   9
25. Masaki Kano           BMW          2m44.865s  12.114  10
26. Jo Merszei            BMW          2m45.172s  12.421   8
27. Mehdi Bennani         BMW          no time
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Michelisz claims maiden win at Macau
Huff cruises to Macau victory
Huff claims pole for Macau opener
Muller fastest in disrupted qualifying
Huff tops first practice at Macau