Find out more about our subscriptions

Marquez flies to another 125cc win

Marc Marquez leads at SepangMarc Marquez reclaimed the 125cc championship lead with another unstoppable performance as he took his eighth victory of the season in Malaysia.

His title rivals Pol Espargaro and Nico Terol completed the podium and remain right with Marquez in the points, but once again they were unable to match his pure speed in the race.

Given his pace all weekend, it looked like polesitter Marquez was in a position to dominate when he reached Turn 1 with his lead intact.

But Terol grabbed first place on the inside at Turn 4 on the opening lap, and Espargaro and Bradley Smith then pounced as well, with Marquez pushed back to fourth by the end of a frantic two minutes of place-swapping.

Marquez soon shook off Espargaro and Smith and then hunted down Terol, who had made a slight break. But as the Ajo Derbi closed in on the Aspar Aprilia, Espargaro's Tuenti Derbi tagged along with it - and although Marquez grabbed the lead back on lap five, just a lap and a half later he was back down to third behind his title rivals after running wide at Turn 1.

While this trio squabbled, their team-mates joined in the fun - Bradley Smith (Aspar), Sandro Cortese (Ajo) and Efren Vazquez (Tuenti) making it a six-way fight.

But just as it looked like things were going to get very complicated for Marquez, he calmly picked his way back to the front and started pulling away once more, eventually winning by 2.3 seconds.

Espargaro beat Terol to second, with Vazquez emerging in fourth as his battle with Smith and Cortese went all the way to the line.

Esteve Rabat was a lonely seventh, followed by a photo finish for seventh between Tomoyoshi Koyama, Luis Salom and Randy Krummenacher.

Danny Webb was in this battle as well until he crashed out. The Briton was already riding with a broken hand, and had to be stretchered away after tumbling violently through the gravel in today's high-speed incident.

Pos  Rider                Bike          Time/Gap
 1.  Marc Marquez         Derbi       40m29.035s
 2.  Pol Espargaro        Derbi         + 2.341s
 3.  Nicolas Terol        Aprilia       + 3.656s
 4.  Efren Vazquez        Derbi         + 6.780s
 5.  Bradley Smith        Aprilia       + 7.133s
 6.  Sandro Cortese       Derbi         + 7.297s
 7.  Esteve Rabat         Aprilia      + 26.648s
 8.  Luis Salom           Aprilia      + 29.339s
 9.  Tomoyoshi Koyama     Aprilia      + 29.339s
10.  Randy Krummenache    Aprilia      + 29.365s
11.  Johann Zarco         Aprilia      + 36.329s
12.  Alberto Moncayo      Aprilia      + 37.545s
13.  Adrian Martin        Aprilia      + 51.262s
14.  Jakub Kornfeil       Aprilia      + 54.634s
15.  Marcel Schrotter     Honda        + 54.635s
16.  Zulfahmi Khairuddin  Aprilia      + 58.581s
17.  Louis Rossi          Aprilia    + 1m15.218s
18.  Marco Ravaioli       Lambretta  + 1m15.595s
19.  Tommaso Gabrielli    Aprilia    + 2m00.178s


     Danny Webb           Aprilia    11 laps
     Danny Kent           Lambretta  11 laps
     Jasper Iwema         Aprilia    7 laps
     Sturla Fagerhaug     Aprilia    6 laps
     Simone Grotzkyj      Aprilia    5 laps
     Luca Marconi         Aprilia    5 laps
     Lorenzo Savadori     Aprilia    3 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Marquez takes record 10th pole