Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 10 views remaining

You have read 5 stories this month. After 15, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 60 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 15 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 60 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Glenn Freeman Editor
Find out more about our subscriptions

Vervisch wins race two for Liverpool

Frederic Vervisch wins at Ordos for LiverpoolLiverpool's Frederic Vervisch followed up his Algarve super final victory by winning the second race at Ordos in China on Sunday.

The Belgian's engine blew in race one, giving him a second-row starting spot on the reversed grid. He inherited the lead when early frontrunner Andy Soucek (Flamengo) spun away the top spot at the dusty chicane on lap five.

Once in front, Vervisch was never challenged and pulled well clear of the pack to win by 7.6 seconds.

The true star of the race was Max Wissel (FC Basel) who raced from 18th to second. He charged through the field in the early laps, and picked off positions one after the other. A swift pitstop also helped his cause, and he was able to hold a recovering Soucek at bay to the finish.

Race one winner Ben Hanley (Olympiacos) was also flying again, and his final passing move, on the returning reigning champion Adrian Valles (Sporting Lisbon), on the penultimate lap gave him fourth place.

Of the title contenders, AC Milan's Yelmer Buurman was seventh, Davide Rigon finished eighth for Anderlecht and Craig Dolby was 10th for Tottenham after a costly spin while battling with Valles.

Pos  Driver             Team                      Time/Gap
 1.  Frederic Vervisch  Liverpool FC            45m12.859s
 2.  Max Wissel         FC Basel                  + 7.625s
 3.  Andy Soucek        Flamengo                  + 9.437s
 4.  Ben Hanley         Olympiacos               + 18.910s
 5.  Adrian Valles      Sporting Lisbon          + 21.612s
 6.  Franck Perera      Girondins de Bordeaux    + 42.618s
 7.  Yelmer Buurman     AC Milan                 + 43.325s
 8.  Davide Rigon       RSC Anderlecht           + 47.052s
 9.  Marcos Martinez    Sevilla FC               + 54.986s
10.  Craig Dolby        Tottenham Hotspur        + 55.977s
11.  Adderly Fong       PSV Eindhoven          + 1m01.575s
12.  Earl Bamber        FC Porto               + 1m09.357s
13.  Ma Qing Hua        Team China                 + 1 lap


     Bruno Mendez       Atletico de Madrid     17 laps
     Robert Doornbos    Corinthians            12 laps
     Julien Jousse      AS Roma                0 laps
     Tristan Gommendy   Olympique Lyonnais     0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Perera stripped of Ordos final win
Perera wins thrilling final in China
Olympiacos' Hanley wins at Ordos
Martin, Soucek rue qualifying errors
Hanley gives Olympiacos Ordos pole