Find out more about our subscriptions

Elias wins restarted Moto2 race

Toni Elias leads at IndianapolisToni Elias edged closer to the inaugural Moto2 title by winning his third straight race in a restarted and shortened Indianapolis event.

The original start had to be abandoned after two separate multi-bike tangles at Turn 2 saw eight riders crash, with Gabor Talmacsi, Simone Corsi, Raffaele de Rosa, Roger Lee Hayden and Shoya Tomizawa among them, although the latter was the only one who failed to take the restart half an hour later.

Polesitter Julian Simon had held the lead on the initial getaway, ahead of Anthony West, Scott Redding and Elias. But at the restart it was Elias who surged to the front, as Simon dropped back to fourth behind Redding and West.

Simon was soon on the move, retaking West and Redding, and then sweeping past Elias into the first corner on lap four.

The top three broke away together, with Simon looking in control until lap 11, when a bold move by Elias saw him blast around the outside at Turn 1 and back into the lead. Simon stayed with him, but had to settle for second, while Redding shadowed them to take a first Moto2 podium in third.

Elias' main title rival Andrea Iannone had started only 26th following a massive qualifying crash. He surged through to 12th at the first start, but only made it to 18th at the second attempt - although this did not stop him hacking through the field with ease once the race was underway.

Iannone eventually made it through to a stunning fourth, just ahead of the even more impressive Corsi, who came from last to fifth having been embroiled in the original start crash.

Sergio Gadea held off Thomas Luthi and Gabor Talmacsi for sixth. West slipped back to 10th behind American wild card Justin di Salvo.

Several riders crashed while running strongly, with Ratthapark Wilairot distraught to throw away seventh, and Hector Faubel's bike tumbling down the track with a fuel fire erupting behind it when he crashed out of fifth early on. He was unhurt.

Pos  Rider                Bike            Time/Gap
 1.  Toni Elias           Moriwaki      30m27.480s
 2.  Julian Simon         Suter           + 0.405s
 3.  Scott Redding        Suter           + 4.227s
 4.  Andrea Iannone       Speed Up        + 5.978s
 5.  Simone Corsi         Motobi          + 7.058s
 6.  Sergio Gadea         Pons Kalex      + 9.432s
 7.  Thomas Luthi         Moriwaki        + 9.815s
 8.  Gabor Talmacsi       Speed Up       + 10.141s
 9.  Jason di Salvo       FTR            + 17.564s
10.  Anthony West         MZ             + 17.592s
11.  Dominique Aegerter   Suter          + 17.618s
12.  Mike di Meglio       Suter          + 20.527s
13.  Claudio Corti        Suter          + 26.008s
14.  Axel Pons            Pons Kalex     + 28.353s
15.  Yonny Hernandez      BQR            + 30.480s
16.  Alex Baldolini       ICP            + 30.538s
17.  Roger Lee Hayden     Moriwaki       + 31.860s
18.  Valentin Debise      ADV            + 32.255s
19.  Kenny Noyes          Promoharris    + 32.500s
20.  Lukas Pesek          Moriwaki       + 32.529s
21.  Robertino Pietri     Suter          + 44.569s
22.  Joan Olive           Promoharris    + 44.956s
23.  Arne Tode            Suter          + 52.993s
24.  Yannick Guerra       Moriwaki       + 57.481s
25.  Roberto Rolfo        Suter        + 1m16.404s
26.  Yuki Takahashi       Tech 3          + 3 laps


     Mashel Al Naimi      BQR          12 laps
     Jules Cluzel         Suter        11 laps
     Ratthapark Wilairot  Bimota       8 laps
     Raffaele De Rosa     Tech 3       6 laps
     Stefan Bradl         Suter        5 laps
     Ricard Cardus        Bimota       2 laps
     Yusuke Teshima       Motobi       2 laps
     Hector Faubel        Suter        1 lap
     Alex Debon           FTR          1 lap
     Vladimir Ivanov      Moriwaki     1 lap
     Shoya Tomizawa       Suter        0 laps
     Michael Ranseder     Suter        0 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Maiden Moto2 pole for Simon