Find out more about our subscriptions

Maldonado tops wet practice at Spa

Pastor Maldonado, Rapax, Spa 2010Pastor Maldonado set the quickest time in the wet first GP2 practice session at Spa on Friday.

The championship leader, who won at Belgian circuit in 2008, was much faster than anyone else - second-placed Dani Clos the only driver within two seconds of his best time.

Series returnee Alvaro Parente won here last year and went third fastest in his first session with Coloni. Romain Grosjean is another driver to have won here in the past, in '08, and he was fifth behind Michael Herck.

Christian Vietoris completed the top six, while fellow former winners at Spa (in F3) Oliver Turvey and Sam Bird were seventh and 10th, split by Marcus Ericsson and Fabrizio Crestani.

Maldonado's nearest title rival, Sergio Perez, was only 11th, while the only other driver on the grid to have won a GP2 race at Spa, Giedo van der Garde, was just 15th.

Jules Bianchi was 19th on following his recovery from the back injury he sustained in the last event at the Hungaroring.

Pos Driver               Team                Time       Gap  Laps
 1. Pastor Maldonado     Rapax               2m16.498s          8
 2. Dani Clos            Racing Engineering  2m18.368s  +1.870  7
 3. Alvaro Parente       Coloni              2m18.651s  +2.153  8
 4. Michael Herck        DPR                 2m18.816s  +2.318  3
 5. Romain Grosjean      DAMS                2m19.233s  +2.735  6
 6. Christian Vietoris   Racing Engineering  2m19.342s  +2.844  7
 7. Oliver Turvey        iSport              2m19.579s  +3.081  7
 8. Marcus Ericsson      Super Nova          2m19.603s  +3.105  7
 9. Fabrizio Crestani    DPR                 2m19.914s  +3.416  7
10. Sam Bird             ART                 2m19.968s  +3.470  8
11. Sergio Perez         Addax               2m20.009s  +3.511  8
12. Luiz Razia           Rapax               2m20.079s  +3.581  6
13. Luca Filippi         Super Nova          2m20.301s  +3.803  7
14. Vlado Arabadzhiev    Coloni              2m20.335s  +3.837  8
15. Giedo van der Garde  Addax               2m20.480s  +3.982  7
16. Rodolfo Gonzalez     Arden               2m21.001s  +4.503  6
17. Davide Valsecchi     iSport              2m21.042s  +4.544  6
18. Adrian Zaugg         Trident             2m21.575s  +5.077  7
19. Jules Bianchi        ART                 2m21.981s  +5.483  8
20. Fabio Leimer         Ocean               2m22.769s  +6.271  3
21. Jerome D'Ambrosio    DAMS                2m24.843s  +8.345  3
22. Max Chilton          Ocean               2m25.442s  +8.944  3
23. Charles Pic          Arden               2m28.349s +11.851  3
24. Johnny Cecotto Jr    Trident             no time
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Perez storms to Spa victory
Clos to miss Spa sprint race
Maldonado hangs on to win at Spa
Herck penalty gives D'Ambrosio pole
Herck claims pole in chaos at Spa