Find out more about our subscriptions

Loeb remains unbeaten in Germany

Sebastien Loeb celebrates victory in GermanySebastien Loeb stretched his astounding unbeaten run in Rally Germany by winning the event for an eighth time with another dominant performance.

Citroen driver Loeb was never headed this weekend, pulling out an ever-increasing lead over his team-mate Dani Sordo before eventually triumphing by 51 seconds. Loeb's fifth win of 2010 extends his championship lead to 58 points with four rallies to go, meaning he could clinch his seventh consecutive title in Japan next month.

Sordo was satisfied with second place on his return to the factory team, particularly as he was in his first rally with new co-driver Diego Vallejo. He had kept Loeb within sight until the Frenchman's blistering performance on the Saturday morning run through the 48-kilometre Panzerplatte stage built a secure lead.

"A very good victory for me again - the eighth one in a row," said Loeb. "It's incredible, I really have a good feeling on this rally. I wouldn't like to be beaten here, and this time it's all okay again."

Contesting the event in WRC machinery for the first time, Sebastien Ogier (Citroen Junior) made a quiet start before taking fourth from Mikko Hirvonen and then closing on Jari-Matti Latvala - taking third when the Finn spun on Panzerplatte.

Latvala went on to secure fourth, scant consolation for Ford on a weekend that saw transmission problems on both Saturday and Sunday forcing Hirvonen to retire, Ken Block's Monster Ford suffering a broken alternator on a road section, and returnee Francois Duval crashing his Stobart Ford heavily on Panzerplatte while running fifth.

Petter Solberg would have featured in the podium fight had he not lost several minutes to two damaged tyres on Friday. He took five stage victories as he fought back to fifth place.

The closest battle ended up being between Matthew Wilson and Kimi Raikkonen for sixth. The Stobart Ford driver slipped ahead of the Citroen Junior man when Raikkonen made some small errors on Sunday morning, and then held the position despite the Finn winning the rally-closing superspecial.

S2000 featured a spectacular three-way, weekend-long dice between Patrik Sandell, Martin Prokop and P-G Andersson. After the latter damaged a wheel with a heavy landing this morning, Sandell managed to beat Prokop to the class win by just 4.7s.

Armindo Araujo kept Hayden Paddon at bay to win the Production division, and Hans Weijs Jr took a dominant Junior victory.

Pos  Driver              Car        Time/Gap
 1.  Sebastien Loeb      Citroen  3h59m38.3s
 2.  Dani Sordo          Citroen     + 51.3s
 3.  Sebastien Ogier     Citroen   + 2m13.3s
 4.  Jari-Matti Latvala  Ford      + 2m33.9s
 5.  Petter Solberg      Citroen   + 6m47.7s
 6.  Matthew Wilson      Ford      + 8m46.7s
 7.  Kimi Raikkonen      Citroen   + 8m50.5s
 8.  Khalid Al Qassimi   Ford     + 17m36.5s
 9.  Mark van Eldik      Subaru   + 17m53.0s
10.  Patrik Sandell      Skoda    + 17m58.8s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Late problems for Hirvonen, Block
Loeb cruising towards Germany win
Solberg thrilled to win Panzerplatte
Duval unhurt in heavy accident
Loeb takes healthy lead into leg three
Fiery exit for Jourdain
Loeb pulls away in Germany
Citroen in control after opening leg
Solberg plans comeback charge
Raikkonen finding Germany tough
Loeb leads first morning in Germany
Drivers unfazed by mammoth stage