Find out more about our subscriptions

Muller wins from pole in Hungary

Nico Muller wins in HungaryNico Muller has converted his pole position into a victory in today's GP3 race at the Hungaroring.

It was a fairly processional affair, with Status's Robert Wickens trying to spice things up by going from fourth to second at the start, only to be shuffled back into his original position over the following two corners - meaning that all the front runners finished in the positions they started.

Series leader Esteban Gutierrez was second, the Mexican having reeled off a string of quick laps midway through the race to reduce what had been a gap of 3s down to just 0.9s with a few laps remaining. But Muller was able to respond and crossed the line with a 1.4s advantage over the ART car.

Tech 1's Stefano Coletti was third ahead of Wickens and Carlin's Dean Smith.

Addax's Mirko Bortolotti was on target for sixth but his car slowed as he rounded the final corner, allowing Carlin stand-in Antonio Felix da Costa to move up a position.

Josef Newgarden (Carlin) was promoted to seventh, and Alexander Rossi (ART) benefited from Bortolotti's misfortune by being bumped up to eighth to head an all-American front row for tomorrow's race.

Pos  Driver                  Team         Time/Gap
 1.  Nico Muller             Jenzer     26m27.400s
 2.  Esteban Gutierrez       ART          + 1.450s
 3.  Stefano Coletti         Tech 1      + 14.516s
 4.  Robert Wickens          Status      + 14.856s
 5.  Dean Smith              Carlin      + 18.232s
 6.  Antonio Felix da Costa  Carlin      + 24.546s
 7.  Josef Newgarden         Carlin      + 24.846s
 8.  Alexander Rossi         ART         + 25.999s
 9.  Renger van der Zande    RSC Mucke   + 28.073s
10.  Michael Christensen     MW Arden    + 29.808s
11.  Mirko Bortolotti        Addax       + 31.325s
12.  Adrian Quaife-Hobbs     Manor       + 31.408s
13.  Felipe Guimaraes        Addax       + 38.192s
14.  Doru Sechelariu         Tech 1      + 39.997s
15.  Tobias Hegewald         RSC Mucke   + 44.979s
16.  Oliver Oakes            Atech CRS   + 49.818s
17.  Pal Varhaug             Jenzer      + 50.904s
18.  Adrien Tambay           Manor       + 51.827s
19.  Pedro Nunes             ART         + 52.423s
20.  Rio Haryanto            Manor       + 53.564s
21.  Daniel Morad            Status      + 53.995s
22.  Leonardo Cordeiro       MW Arden    + 54.390s
23.  Nigel Melker            RSC Mucke   + 54.659s
24.  Vittorio Ghirelli       Atech CRS   + 54.990s
25.  Ivan Lukashevich        Status      + 55.856s


     Pablo Sanchez Lopez     Addax      13 laps
     Marco Barba             Jenzer     12 laps
     Roberto Merhi           Atech CRS  7 laps
     Miki Monras             MW Arden   6 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Rossi seals Hungaroring victory
Muller tops ultra-close GP3 qualifying
Muller fastest in GP3 practice