Find out more about our subscriptions

Reiter Lamborghini wins at Spa

Frank Kechele and Ricardo Zonta win at SpaFormer grand prix driver Ricardo Zonta and Frank Kechele claimed victory for the Reiter Lamborghini team in the main event at the Spa round of the FIA GT1 World Championship.

Zonta led from the front row in his Lamborghini Murcielago R-SV, but eventually lost out to Xavier Maassen in the DKR-run Mad-Croc Chevrolet Corvette and Peter Kox in the Reiter sister car.

Kechele overtook team-mate Christopher Haase, who was struggling with engine problems, straight after their pitstops and was able to take the lead from the Matech Ford GT driven by Thomas Mutsch after a late-race safety car - by which time Maassen and Jos Menten had retired the Mad-Croc Chevy with a puncture.

Zonta conceded that it was unlikely he would have been able to beat the Chevrolet but described the victory as "very important for the team".

Second place went to the Vitaphone-run Hegersport Maserati MC12 driven by team boss Altfrid Heger and late stand-in Alex Muller, which qualified in last place. They finished 12th in the qualifying race and then an early pitstop in the championship race vaulted them up the order in the main event.

Mutsch and team-mate Richard Westbrook ended up third after Peter Dumbreck retired the best of the Sumo Power Nissan GT-Rs in the closing stages. Enrique Bernoldi and Miguel Ramos finished fifth in their Vitaphone Maserati.

Pos  Drivers                 Car             Time/Gap
 1.  Zonta/Kechele           Lamborghini   1h01m.200s
 2.  Heger/Muller            Maserati        + 3.253s
 3.  Westbrook/Mutsch        Ford            + 6.675s
 4.  Bernoldi/Ramos          Maserati        + 7.074s
 5.  Makowiecki/Accary       Aston Martin    + 7.936s
 6.  Enge/Turner             Aston Martin    + 8.274s
 7.  Bertolini/Bartels       Maserati        + 9.741s
 8.  Longin/Verdonck         Maserati       + 10.591s
 9.  Pastorelli/Schwager     Lamborghini    + 10.784s
10.  Hirschi/Piccione        Aston Martin   + 13.921s
11.  Hughes/Campbell-Walter  Nissan         + 14.140s
12.  Wendlinger/Moser        Nissan         + 14.346s
13.  Hezemans/Hennerici      Corvette       + 15.056s
14.  Grosjean/Jani           Ford           + 15.354s
15.  Palttala/Kuppens        Ford           + 19.486s
16.  Ara/Nilsson             Nissan         + 23.695s
17.  Gavin/Kuismanen         Corvette       + 33.139s


     Krumm/Dumbreck          Nissan        22 laps
     Nygaard/Mucke           Aston Martin  19 laps
     Kox/Haase               Lamborghini   15 laps
     Basseng/Bouchut         Lamborghini   11 laps
     Martin/Leinders         Ford          10 laps
     Maassen/Menten          Corvette      8 laps
     Piccini/Kumpen          Corvette      3 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Phoenix/Carsport loses Spa podium
Mad-Croc Corvette dominates at Spa
Maassen gives Mad-Croc Spa pole