Find out more about our subscriptions

Bird tops qualifying amid controversy

Sam Bird, ART, Hungaroring 2010Sam Bird set the fastest time in today's GP2 Series qualifying session at the Hungaroring, but his claim to pole position for tomorrow's feature race remains in doubt after speculation that the ART driver set his best time under yellows.

Bird's 1m27.864s effort came late in the last couple of minutes of the session, but he may have done so while yellows were still out to allow for Jerome d'Ambrosio's car to be removed from the run-off area in the final corner.

AUTOSPORT understands that the team believes that the track was clear based on the readings from the GPS and instructed the Briton to push, and the session returned to green conditions moments after he finished his lap, but the final decision remains in the hands of the stewards.

Bird's lap put him 0.043 seconds clear of iSport's Davide Valsecchi, who had also improved under yellows but later managed to go quicker still under greens, with the Italian's team-mate Oliver Turvey third and Rapax's Pastor Maldonado fourth. The Venezuelan had a frustrating afternoon with each of his flying laps being interrupted by traffic, with one encounter ending with him bumping Arden's Charles Pic off the track at the second to last corner in an effort to get through.

Christian Vietoris managed fifth-quickest for Racing Engineering, while 2009 Silverstone feature race winner Alberto Valerio (Coloni) qualified a surprise sixth.

Pos  Driver               Team                Time       Gap
 1.  Sam Bird             ART                 1m27.864s
 2.  Davide Valsecchi     iSport              1m27.907s  + 0.043s
 3.  Oliver Turvey        iSport              1m27.976s  + 0.112s
 4.  Pastor Maldonado     Rapax               1m28.134s  + 0.270s
 5.  Christian Vietoris   Racing Engineering  1m28.225s  + 0.361s
 6.  Alberto Valerio      Coloni              1m28.245s  + 0.381s
 7.  Sergio Perez         Barwa Addax         1m28.273s  + 0.409s
 8.  Giacomo Ricci        DPR                 1m28.277s  + 0.413s
 9.  Michael Herck        DPR                 1m28.337s  + 0.473s
10.  Giedo van der Garde  Barwa Addax         1m28.357s  + 0.493s
11.  Jules Bianchi        ART                 1m28.375s  + 0.511s
12.  Jerome d'Ambrosio    DAMS                1m28.378s  + 0.514s
13.  Dani Clos            Racing Engineering  1m28.483s  + 0.619s
14.  Charles Pic          Arden               1m28.536s  + 0.672s
15.  Marcus Ericsson      Super Nova          1m28.613s  + 0.749s
16.  Ho-Pin Tung          DAMS                1m28.622s  + 0.758s
17.  Luiz Razia           Rapax               1m28.710s  + 0.846s
18.  Fabio Leimer         Ocean               1m28.718s  + 0.854s
19.  Adrian Zaugg         Trident             1m28.727s  + 0.863s
20.  Luca Filippi         Super Nova          1m28.924s  + 1.060s
21.  Johnny Cecotto       Trident             1m28.968s  + 1.104s
22.  Vlado Arabadjiev     Coloni              1m29.141s  + 1.277s
23.  Max Chilton          Ocean               1m29.219s  + 1.355s
24.  Rodolfo Gonzalez     Arden               1m30.129s  + 2.265s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Ricci takes first GP2 main series win
Maldonado wins dramatic feature race
Bird allowed to keep Hungary pole
Addax one-two in GP2 practice