Find out more about our subscriptions

Power leads Penske practice sweep

Will Power, Penske, EdmontonPenske took a one-two-three in Friday afternoon practice at Edmonton's airport track.

Championship leader Will Power was in front for most of the session, followed by team-mates Ryan Briscoe and Helio Castroneves.

The dominant Penske and Ganassi teams had filled the top five in the early running as well, until Dreyer & Reinbold's Justin Wilson got among them - and then kept improving until he was within a few tenths of Power.

But Power had more speed in hand and improved to a 1m01.6689s lap, to secure the top spot ahead of Briscoe, Castroneves and Ganassi's Dario Franchitti - with Scott Dixon pushed back to sixth in Ganassi's other entry and Wilson to seventh as rookie Takuma Sato made a spectacular last-gasp run to grab fifth for KV Racing Technology.

KV had three cars in the top ten again - EJ Viso and Paul Tracy were eighth and ninth, followed by Tony Kanaan (Andretti Autosport).

The session saw three brief stoppages for yellows, caused by Bertrand Baguette crashing his Conquest car, Milka Duno (Dale Coyne) spinning and stalling, and Dreyer & Reinbold's Tomas Scheckter sliding into a tyre wall.

Pos  Driver               Team               Time        Gap
 1.  Will Power           Penske             1m01.6689s
 2.  Ryan Briscoe         Penske             1m01.9474s  + 0.2784s
 3.  Helio Castroneves    Penske             1m02.0152s  + 0.3462s
 4.  Dario Franchitti     Ganassi            1m02.0356s  + 0.3667s
 5.  Takuma Sato          KV                 1m02.0608s  + 0.3919s
 6.  Scott Dixon          Ganassi            1m02.1086s  + 0.4397s
 7.  Justin Wilson        Dreyer & Reinbold  1m02.2571s  + 0.5882s
 8.  EJ Viso              KV                 1m02.4789s  + 0.8099s
 9.  Paul Tracy           KV                 1m02.5559s  + 0.8869s
10.  Tony Kanaan          Andretti           1m02.6512s  + 0.9823s
11.  Marco Andretti       Andretti           1m02.6591s  + 0.9901s
12.  Raphael Matos        De Ferran Dragon   1m02.7098s  + 1.0408s
13.  Mario Moraes         KV                 1m02.7548s  + 1.0859s
14.  Alex Tagliani        Fazzt              1m02.7894s  + 1.1204s
15.  Simona de Silvestro  HVM                1m02.9256s  + 1.2567s
16.  Ryan Hunter-Reay     Andretti           1m03.0602s  + 1.3912s
17.  Tomas Scheckter      Dreyer & Reinbold  1m03.0647s  + 1.3958s
18.  Bertrand Baguette    Conquest           1m03.1313s  + 1.4623s
19.  Hideki Mutoh         Newman/Haas        1m03.2862s  + 1.6172s
20.  Mario Romancini      Conquest           1m03.3430s  + 1.6741s
21.  Danica Patrick       Andretti           1m03.3629s  + 1.6940s
22.  Vitor Meira          Foyt               1m03.5467s  + 1.8777s
23.  Alex Lloyd           Dale Coyne         1m03.5816s  + 1.9127s
24.  Dan Wheldon          Panther            1m03.9055s  + 2.2365s
25.  Milka Duno           Dale Coyne         1m10.0289s  + 8.3600s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Castroneves fined, put on probation
Castroneves apologises for outburst
IRL defends Castroneves penalty
Dixon awarded controversial win
Power scores another Edmonton pole
Penske blitzes final Edmonton session
Franchitti quickest in opening practice