Find out more about our subscriptions

Marquez takes dominant pole

Marc MarquezWorld championship leader Marc Marquez crushed his rivals in qualifying for the German 125cc Grand Prix by taking a throroughly dominant sixth pole position of the season.

The 17-year-old Derbi rider pushed points rival Pol Espargaro back to second in the final minutes of the session with an extraordinary lap of 1m26.053s, some 0.8s under the qualifying record set by Gabor Talmacsi in 2007.

Marquez's advantage may have been amplified somewhat by the clear track he enjoyed as opposed to the traffic Espargaro was locked in - nevertheless the Spaniard didn't look likely to crack that time.

With Nico Terol having opted not to race this weekend, following the injuries picked up in Catalunya, Bradley Smith was left to uphold Aspar honours with third. The Briton however, was some 1.3s away from the pole.

Home rider Sandro Cortese slipped ahead of Randy Krummenacher in the final moments to take fourth, the Swiss meanwhile equalling his best grid position of the season.

Tomoyoshi Koyama was sixth fastest on the Aprilia ahead of Johann Zarco, Esteban Rabat and Danny Webb.

Pos  Rider                 Bike       Time       Gap
 1.  Marc Marquez          Derbi      1m26.053s
 2.  Pol Espargaro         Derbi      1m26.596s  + 0.543s
 3.  Bradley Smith         Aprilia    1m27.378s  + 1.325s
 4.  Sandro Cortese        Derbi      1m27.387s  + 1.334s
 5.  Randy Krummenacher    Aprilia    1m27.480s  + 1.427s
 6.  Efren Vazquez         Derbi      1m27.647s  + 1.594s
 7.  Tomoyoshi Koyama      Aprilia    1m27.824s  + 1.771s
 8.  Johann Zarco          Aprilia    1m28.069s  + 2.016s
 9.  Esteve Rabat          Aprilia    1m28.075s  + 2.022s
10.  Danny Webb            Aprilia    1m28.324s  + 2.271s
11.  Jonas Folger          Aprilia    1m28.499s  + 2.446s
12.  Jasper Iwema          Aprilia    1m28.720s  + 2.667s
13.  Alberto Moncayo       Aprilia    1m28.826s  + 2.773s
14.  Alexis Masbou         Aprilia    1m28.854s  + 2.801s
15.  Marcel Schrotter      Honda      1m28.975s  + 2.922s
16.  Jakub Kornfeil        Aprilia    1m29.054s  + 3.001s
17.  Simone Grotzkyj       Aprilia    1m29.091s  + 3.038s
18.  Toni Finsterbusch     KTM        1m29.225s  + 3.172s
19.  Adrian Martin         Aprilia    1m29.397s  + 3.344s
20.  Zulfahmi Khairuddin   Aprilia    1m29.506s  + 3.453s
21.  Luis Salom            Aprilia    1m29.577s  + 3.524s
22.  Sturla Fagerhaug      Aprilia    1m29.819s  + 3.766s
23.  Michael van der Mark  Lambretta  1m29.868s  + 3.815s
24.  Louis Rossi           Aprilia    1m30.123s  + 4.070s
25.  Lorenzo Savadori      Aprilia    1m30.138s  + 4.085s
26.  Daniel Kartheininger  KTM        1m30.476s  + 4.423s
27.  Luca Marconi          Aprilia    1m30.634s  + 4.581s
28.  Eric Hubsch           Aprilia    1m30.656s  + 4.603s
29.  Marvin Fritz          Honda      1m31.502s  + 5.449s
30.  Kevin Hanus           Honda      1m31.519s  + 5.466s
31.  Marco Ravaioli        Lambretta  1m31.703s  + 5.650s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Marquez fights for fifth straight win