Find out more about our subscriptions

Marquez takes hard-earned 125cc win

Pol Espargaro and Marc Marquez race for Silverstone 125cc victoryMarc Marquez took his second consecutive 125cc win after winning a ferocious late battle with Pol Espargaro at Silverstone.

The two Spaniards escaped from their rivals early on and ran in cagey formation until the closing stages, when after many laps of running nose to tail without trying to pass each other, they erupted into a no-holds-barred tussle that saw side to side contact on at least two occasions and half a dozen changes of lead.

Espargaro led into the new section of track for the final time, but Marquez slipped through at Village corner. It was not over yet though, as Espargaro tucked in behind his rival on the Wellington straight and dived to the inside into Brooklands.

He took the lead, but could not make the corner, hitting a bump and almost crashing. As the bike slid away from him, Espargaro managed to steady it with his elbow and go straight on over the run-off area, rejoining still second as Marquez took the chequered flag.

A similarly huge battle decided third place, which Bradley Smith eventually took - as his first podium of 2010 finally came on home ground. He had been dicing with his Aspar team-mate Nico Terol and Tuenti's Efren Vazquez, but when the latter pair tangled at Abbey on the last lap, Smith was handed the podium.

The incident happened when Terol clipped the rear of Vazquez's bike as the latter completed a pass, sending Terol wide and Vazquez flying through the air - although he rejoined to take 11th.

Pos  Rider                  Bike          Time/Gap
 1.  Marc Marquez           Derbi       38m12.837s
 2.  Pol Espargaro          Derbi         + 2.576s
 3.  Bradley Smith          Aprilia      + 13.446s
 4.  Nicolas Terol          Aprilia      + 17.117s
 5.  Tomoyoshi Koyama       Aprilia      + 35.641s
 6.  Sandro Cortese         Derbi        + 39.184s
 7.  Randy Krummenacher     Aprilia      + 39.258s
 8.  Johann Zarco           Aprilia      + 39.949s
 9.  Esteve Rabat           Aprilia      + 40.510s
10.  Daniel Webb            Aprilia      + 50.287s
11.  Efren Vazquez          Derbi      + 1m03.503s
12.  Alberto Moncayo        Aprilia    + 1m04.065s
13.  Jasper Iwema           Aprilia    + 1m07.148s
14.  Simone Grotzki Giorgi  Aprilia    + 1m07.591s
15.  Jonas Folger           Aprilia    + 1m07.601s
16.  Adrian Martin          Aprilia    + 1m08.045s
17.  Marcel Schrotter       Honda      + 1m12.472s
18.  Sturla Fagerhaug       Aprilia    + 1m16.933s
19.  Louis Rossi            Aprilia    + 1m38.139s
20.  Jakub Kornfeil         Aprilia    + 1m41.224s
21.  Lorenzo Savadori       Aprilia    + 1m41.416s
22.  Michael van der Mark   Lambretta  + 1m42.313s
23.  Luca Marconi           Aprilia    + 1m42.642s
24.  Deane Brown            Honda          + 1 lap


     Taylor Mackenzie       Honda      16 laps
     Muhammad Zulfahmi      Aprilia    11 laps
     Danny Kent             Honda      11 laps
     James Lodge            Honda      8 laps
     Alexis Masbou          Aprilia    5 laps
     Luis Salom             Aprilia    4 laps
     Marco Ravaioli         Lambretta  4 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed