Find out more about our subscriptions

Briscoe dominates final Iowa practice

Ryan Briscoe, Penske, 2010Ryan Briscoe dominated the final free practice session for the Iowa Speedway round of the IndyCar Series, the Penske driver occupying the top position in the times from the minute he hit the track.

The Australian's 181mph lap wasn't threatened for much of the hour, though Marco Andretti - fresh from his 24 hours adventure at Le Mans - posted a flyer for Andretti Autosport in the final ten minutes of the session.

Will Power ended the session third fastest in the second Penske having moved ahead of the Ganassi pairing of Dario Franchitti and Scott Dixon late on.

Vitor Meira brushed the wall with some force in the Foyt car two thirds of the way through the hour, after practice had already been put under a full caution 30 minutes in for debris at Turn 4, but it didn't deter the Brazilian from setting the sixth fastest time overall.

Dan Wheldon, once again running in Army camouflage grey, set the pace early on before eventually dropping to seventh ahead of an improving-on-ovals Justin Wilson. The Dreyer & Reinbold car another to feature in the top five for a while before slipping to eighth.

Tony Kanaan split the Penskes early on but didn't improve as the session progressed to go ninth while compatriot Helio Castroneves completed the top ten.

Graham Rahal, on his first outing for D&R was 17th quickest, while Danica Patrick appeared to be struggling for pace and ended the session 22nd.

Pos  Driver               Team               Time      Gap
 1.  Ryan Briscoe         Penske             17.7791s
 2.  Marco Andretti       Andretti           17.7806s  + 0.0015s
 3.  Will Power           Penske             17.7919s  + 0.0128s
 4.  Dario Franchitti     Ganassi            17.8012s  + 0.0221s
 5.  Scott Dixon          Ganassi            17.8096s  + 0.0305s
 6.  Vitor Meira          Foyt               17.8101s  + 0.0310s
 7.  Dan Wheldon          Panther            17.8266s  + 0.0475s
 8.  Justin Wilson        Dreyer & Reinbold  17.839 s  + 0.0599s
 9.  Tony Kanaan          Andretti           17.8775s  + 0.0984s
10.  Helio Castroneves    Penske             17.8821s  + 0.1030s
11.  Mario Moraes         KV                 17.9019s  + 0.1228s
12.  Takuma Sato          KV                 17.9095s  + 0.1304s
13.  Alex Lloyd           Dale Coyne         17.9225s  + 0.1434s
14.  Alex Tagliani        FAZZT              17.931 s  + 0.1519s
15.  EJ Viso              KV                 17.9527s  + 0.1736s
16.  Milka Duno           Dale Coyne         17.9801s  + 0.2010s
17.  Graham Rahal         Dreyer & Reinbold  17.9883s  + 0.2092s
18.  Raphael Matos        de Ferran Dragon   17.9986s  + 0.2195s
19.  Bertrand Baguette    Conquest           18.0228s  + 0.2437s
20.  Ryan Hunter-Reay     Andretti           18.0258s  + 0.2467s
21.  Simona de Silvestro  HVM                18.0262s  + 0.2471s
22.  Danica Patrick       Andretti           18.0887s  + 0.3096s
23.  Sarah Fisher         Sarah Fisher       18.1684s  + 0.3893s
24.  Mario Romancini      Conquest           18.2472s  + 0.4681s
25.  Hideki Mutoh         Newman/Haas        18.5436s  + 0.7645s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Kanaan ends victory drought at Iowa
Power takes Iowa pole for Penske
Kanaan tops first Iowa practice