Find out more about our subscriptions

Corti leads mixed up Moto2 grid

Claudio Corti took pole position for the Silverstone Moto2 race, on an unusual grid that saw riders with previous experience of the original track from Superstock and Supersport racing reap the benefits.

Heading into the closing stages, a group of riders who had been in the midfield all year were battling for pole, with Arne Tode, Yonny Hernandez and Alex Baldonini swapping the top spot.

Corti, who had been quick in pre-season testing but showed little form thereafter until Silverstone practice, then grabbed pole with a 2m09.624s lap, which proved unbeatable.

Jules Cluzel moved up to second in the end, with Stefan Bradl and Julian Simon filling the front row.

Hernandez ended up fifth in front of Xavier Simeon, Baldolini and Tode.

The title contenders all struggled. Shoya Tomizawa had an early crash but at least salvaged 11th, while Simone Corsi and points leader Toni Elias were back in 17th and 19th respectively.

British rider Scott Redding was in the fight for pole for a while, before slipping to 12th.

Pos  Rider                Bike          Time       Gap
 1.  Claudio Corti        Suter         2m09.624s
 2.  Jules Cluzel         Suter         2m10.037s  + 0.413s
 3.  Stefan Bradl         Suter         2m10.413s  + 0.789s
 4.  Julian Simon         Suter         2m10.419s  + 0.795s
 5.  Yonni Hernandez      BQR           2m10.475s  + 0.851s
 6.  Xavier Simeon        Moriwaki      2m10.492s  + 0.868s
 7.  Alex Baldolini       ICP           2m10.578s  + 0.954s
 8.  Arne Tode            Suter         2m10.634s  + 1.010s
 9.  Thomas Luthi         Moriwaki      2m10.654s  + 1.030s
10.  Fonsi Nieto          Moriwaki      2m10.668s  + 1.044s
11.  Shoya Tomizawa       Suter         2m10.688s  + 1.064s
12.  Scott Redding        Suter         2m10.768s  + 1.144s
13.  Dominique Agerter    Suter         2m10.773s  + 1.149s
14.  Karel Abraham        FTR           2m10.802s  + 1.178s
15.  Simone Corsi         Motobi        2m10.821s  + 1.197s
16.  Andrea Iannone       Speed Up      2m10.846s  + 1.222s
17.  Alex Debon           FTR           2m10.864s  + 1.240s
18.  Toni Elias           Moriwaki      2m11.050s  + 1.426s
19.  Gabor Talmacsi       Speed Up      2m11.177s  + 1.553s
20.  Axel Pons            Pons Kalex    2m11.190s  + 1.566s
21.  Mattia Pasini        Motobi        2m11.212s  + 1.588s
22.  Sergio Gadea         Pons Kalex    2m11.221s  + 1.597s
23.  Kenny Noyes          Promo Harris  2m11.410s  + 1.786s
24.  Ratthapark Wilairot  Bimota        2m11.421s  + 1.797s
25.  Lukas Pesek          Moriwaki      2m11.457s  + 1.833s
26.  Niccolo Canepa       Scot          2m11.461s  + 1.837s
27.  Roberto Rolfo        Suter         2m11.537s  + 1.913s
28.  Bernat Martinez      Bimota        2m11.613s  + 1.989s
29.  Robertino Pietri     Suter         2m11.684s  + 2.060s
30.  Kevin Coughlan       FTR           2m11.694s  + 2.070s
31.  Mike di Meglio       Suter         2m11.815s  + 2.191s
32.  Hector Faubel        Suter         2m11.948s  + 2.324s
33.  Anthony West         MZ            2m12.052s  + 2.428s
34.  Vladimir Ivanov      Moriwaki      2m12.167s  + 2.543s
35.  Joan Olive           Promo Harris  2m12.340s  + 2.716s
36.  Raffaele de Rosa     Tech 3        2m12.360s  + 2.736s
37.  Anthony Delhalle     BQR           2m12.502s  + 2.878s
38.  Yuki Takahashi       Tech 3        2m12.568s  + 2.944s
39.  Valentin Debise      ADV           2m13.106s  + 3.482s
40.  Vladimir Leonov      Suter         2m13.240s  + 3.616s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Cluzel wins British Moto2 thriller