Find out more about our subscriptions

Di Resta secures Lausitz pole

Paul di Resta, Mercedes, Lausitz 2010Paul di Resta has taken pole position for Sunday's DTM race at Lausitz as Mercedes locked out the front row in Germany.

The Scot held his nerve in the crucial Q4 shootout to set the fastest time, despite having to run first of the top four, while Bruno Spengler snatched second from Audi's Mattias Ekstrom.

Jamie Green, who had topped two of the previous three qualifying segments and ran last in Q4, was on course to take pole after two sectors, but he lost time in the final part of the lap and eventually had to settle for fourth on the grid.

Behind the lead group, the biggest story of qualifying was David Coulthard making it into Q3, while several 2009-spec cars missed the cut.

Coulthard only just scraped through Q2, notably at the expense of former champion Gary Paffett, who was just 0.082 seconds slower than the ex-grand prix driver but had to settle for ninth on the grid.

Ahead of the Scot, Mike Rockenfeller and Alexandre Premat also shone in 2008-spec machinery, and the pair will sandwich reigning champion Timo Scheider, who lines up sixth on the grid.

The other 2009-spec cars to miss the Q3 cut were the Audis of Martin Tomczyk (10th) and Oliver Jarvis (13th), while another 2008 car to impress was Susie Stoddart, who will start just ahead of Jarvis in 12th.

While Coulthard was grabbing headlines in just his third DTM qualifying session, fellow grand prix winner Ralf Schumacher had a day to forget and will start from the back row of the grid.

Pos  Driver             Car       Time       Session
 1.  Paul di Resta      Mercedes  1m18.772s  Q4
 2.  Bruno Spengler     Mercedes  1m18.807s  Q4
 3.  Mattias Ekstrom    Audi      1m18.973s  Q4
 4.  Jamie Green        Mercedes  1m19.024s  Q4
 5.  Mike Rockenfeller  Audi      1m18.575s  Q3
 6.  Timo Scheider      Audi      1m18.759s  Q3
 7.  Alexandre Premat   Audi      1m18.769s  Q3
 8.  David Coulthard    Mercedes  1m19.315s  Q3
 9.  Gary Paffett       Mercedes  1m18.956s  Q2
10.  Martin Tomczyk     Audi      1m19.354s  Q2
11.  Miguel Molina      Audi      1m19.363s  Q2
12.  Susie Stoddart     Mercedes  1m19.414s  Q2
13.  Oliver Jarvis      Audi      1m19.509s  Q2
14.  Maro Engel         Mercedes  1m19.647s  Q2
15.  Markus Winkelhock  Audi      1m19.638s  Q1
16.  Franky Cheng       Mercedes  1m19.754s  Q1
17.  Ralf Schumacher    Mercedes  1m19.977s  Q1
18.  Katherine Legge    Audi      1m20.649s  Q1
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Spengler denies di Resta at Lausitz
Interview with David Coulthard
Schumacher puzzled by slow pace
Rockenfeller stays on top in practice
Rockenfeller fastest at Lausitz