Click to view our fantastic subscription offers

Instant access to the F1 paddock

You have 5 views remaining

You have read 15 stories this month. After 20, you will need to register or subscribe.

Register with us for free to view 30 stories a month.

Or subscribe to AUTOSPORT+ for unlimited news stories and access to our exclusive subscriber-only content.

Our commitment to quality journalism

We've introduced metered access to AUTOSPORT which will ensure that the majority of our visitors can continue to view the site for free. But we think that is worth a small investment from those who use it most, so that we can continue to send the leading experts in their field to motor racing paddocks all over the world to break the latest news and produce the most compelling interviews and race reports.

Every visitor gets 20 free page views per month. Once you reach the limit you can register to get 30 views or choose one of our value-for-money subscription packages to continue viewing and to get additional access to a range of features including:

  • Unlimited access to AUTOSPORT with news and views from the paddock
  • Enjoy AUTOSPORT+: subscriber-only analysis, comment and top-quality pictures
  • Get AUTOSPORT magazine in a digital format on your computer or iPad every week
  • Full access to FORIX - the world's best motorsport statistics website

We greatly appreciate your continued support to keep AUTOSPORT at the forefront of motorsport coverage, and we look forward to welcoming you as a new subscriber.

Andrew Van de Burgt
Editor in Chief
Find out more about our subscriptions

Briscoe claims pole for Texas

Ryan BriscoeRyan Briscoe claimed his second pole position of 2010 in qualifying for the IndyCar Series' Texas night race.

The Penske driver's speed of 215.273mph held on despite strong challenges from Ganassi's Dario Franchitti and points leader Will Power (Penske), who completed the top three.

The first five positions were locked out by the Ganassi/Penske quintet, with Scott Dixon and Helio Castroneves fourth and fifth, but best of the rest in a superb sixth was Alex Lloyd, who showed that his Dale Coyne Racing team's Indianapolis form was no fluke. While his team-mate Milka Duno could not emulate her top six from practice, she took a respectable 17th.

Hideki Mutoh also ran well to take seventh for Newman/Haas, ahead of top Andretti Autosport qualifier Danica Patrick.

Mario Moraes led KV Racing's charge in ninth, while Takuma Sato will start 11th behind Marco Andretti (Andretti) for his Texas debut. Tony Kanaan was only 13th for Andretti, with Ryan Hunter-Reay again struggling for qualifying speed and languishing in 24th.

Pos  Driver               Team               Speed
 1.  Ryan Briscoe         Penske             215.273mph
 2.  Dario Franchitti     Ganassi            215.261mph
 3.  Will Power           Penske             215.158mph
 4.  Scott Dixon          Ganassi            215.152mph
 5.  Helio Castroneves    Penske             214.411mph
 6.  Alex Lloyd           Dale Coyne         214.408mph
 7.  Hideki Mutoh         Newman/Haas        214.380mph
 8.  Danica Patrick       Andretti           214.098mph
 9.  Mario Moraes         KV                 213.800mph
10.  Marco Andretti       Andretti           213.785mph
11.  Takuma Sato          KV                 213.692mph
12.  Justin Wilson        Dreyer & Reinbold  213.602mph
13.  Tony Kanaan          Andretti           213.346mph
14.  EJ Viso              KV                 213.336mph
15.  Dan Wheldon          Panther            213.316mph
16.  Sarah Fisher         Sarah Fisher       213.256mph
17.  Milka Duno           Dale Coyne         213.222mph
18.  Tomas Scheckter      Dreyer & Reinbold  212.904mph
19.  Vitor Meira          Foyt               212.805mph
20.  Alex Tagliani        Fazzt              212.526mph
21.  Jay Howard           Sarah Fisher       212.448mph
22.  Bertrand Baguette    Conquest           212.349mph
23.  Raphael Matos        De Ferran Dragon   212.327mph
24.  Ryan Hunter-Reay     Andretti           212.298mph
25.  Mario Romancini      Conquest           212.101mph
26.  Simona de Silvestro  HVM                211.289mph
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Briscoe beats Patrick to Texas win
Dixon quickest in Texas practice