Find out more about our subscriptions

Palmer clinches Monza double

Jolyon PalmerJolyon Palmer completed a near perfect Formula 2 weekend at Monza by claiming victory from pole position for the second time in two days.

The 19-year-old controlled the race from the front and never looked like being stopped. Will Bratt followed up him closely in the first few laps, but Palmer soon dropped him and cruised to an unchallenged victory - moving into the lead of the championship in the process.

Bratt was beaten to second place by Sergei Afanasiev two laps from the end. The Russian ran Bratt down in the second half of the race and made his move on the inside of Curva Grande.

Dean Stoneman finished fourth after an incident-packed race, in which he clobbered Philipp Eng out of fourth at the first chicane on the second lap. Eng pitted for repairs but retired for good soon after, while the unfortunate Johan Jokinen was also caught up in the incident and vaulted over Eng's front wheel into retirement.

After hitting Eng, Stoneman straight-lined the first chicane and rejoined ahead of Kazim Vasiliaukas. The Lithuanian tried to take the place back immediately, looking to the inside on the approach to the second Lesmo, but he lost control of his car and spun back to the outside, into the wall.

Kelvin Snoeks briefly held fourth after the incidents at Turn 1, but Stoneman soon passed him and pulled clear. Snoeks was then thrust into a battle behind between Armaan Ebrahim, Benjamin Bailly and Jack Clarke. He remained ahead of them but was handed a drive-through penalty for cutting a chicane. Before he had taken it, he was hit by Ebrahim and could only crawl back to the pits to retire, leaving Ebrahim and Bailly to complete the top six.

The other major incident of the race was at the start when Mihai Marinescu failed to get away and was clipped by Nicola de Marco - the Italian failing to make it past the first corner for the second time this weekend.

Pos Driver                        Time/Gap
 1. Jolyon Palmer               30m51.520s
 2. Sergei Afanasiev                +3.917
 3. Will Bratt                      +4.413
 4. Dean Stoneman                  +11.031
 5. Armaan Ebrahim                 +13.435
 6. Benjamin Bailly                +14.491
 7. Paul Rees                      +15.455
 8. Ivan Samarin                   +20.904
 9. Ricardo Teixeira               +21.184
10. Benjamin Lariche               +22.313
11. P.Sureshwaren                  +22.748
12. Plamen Kralev                  +23.468
13. Jack Clarke                    +27.505
14. Natalia Kowalska               +42.220
15. Ajith Kumar                  +1:26.685
16. Mihai Marinescu                +2 laps

Not classified

    Kelvin Snoeks                  15 laps
    Philipp Eng                     3 laps
    Johan Jokinen                    1 lap
    K.Vasiliauskas                   1 lap
    Nicola de Marco                 0 laps

Fastest lap, Marinescu 1m41.439s
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Palmer takes another pole at Monza
Palmer wins classic Monza opener
Palmer clinches first Monza pole