Find out more about our subscriptions

Espargaro defeats Terol in France

Pol Espargaro leads Nico Terol at Le MansPol Espargaro beat Nico Terol to victory in a spectacular 125cc head to head at Le Mans, as the Spanish duo continued to command this year's championship.

The Tuenti Derbi and Aspar Aprilia riders quickly broke away from the rest of the pack, running in close company and opening up a five-second gap to the battle behind.

Espargaro shadowed Terol for the first 15 laps before making his first pass for the lead. They would swap places three more times in the following laps before Espargaro finally got some breathing space when Terol's penultimate lap attempt at the final corners saw him run slightly wide.

He ran out of time to get back on terms, allowing Espargaro to claim his second win of 2010 with a 0.9s margin.

The fight for third was the most spectacular of the race, as Bradley Smith, Marc Marquez, Efren Vazquez and Sandro Cortese grappled with each other all the way.

Smith held the position going into the closing stages, but Marquez set a new lap record with one lap to go as - despite pain from a shoulder injury - he mounted a final bid to get on the podium.

He slipped ahead when Smith had a slight moment on the last lap, and the Briton's determined attempt to regain the place at the chicane ended up costing him fourth as Vazquez also pounced and forced him wide, while Marquez escaped for third.

Behind Cortese, Esteve Rabat beat Tomoyoshi Koyama to seventh, and Danny Webb emerged at the head of a big group squabbling over ninth.

Pos  Rider                 Bike          Time/Gap
 1.  Pol Espargaro         Derbi       41m52.280s
 2.  Nicolas Terol         Aprilia       + 0.957s
 3.  Marc Marquez          Derbi         + 4.428s
 4.  Efren Vazquez         Derbi         + 4.736s
 5.  Bradley Smith         Aprilia       + 5.143s
 6.  Sandro Cortese        Derbi         + 5.847s
 7.  Esteve Rabat          Aprilia      + 11.047s
 8.  Tomoyoshi Koyama      Aprilia      + 11.165s
 9.  Danny Webb            Aprilia      + 37.808s
10.  Luis Salom            Aprilia      + 39.585s
11.  Johann Zarco          Aprilia      + 40.519s
12.  Jasper Iwema          Aprilia      + 40.817s
13.  Jonas Folger          Aprilia      + 42.149s
14.  Randy Krummenacher    Aprilia      + 44.741s
15.  Adrian Martin         Aprilia      + 46.320s
16.  Alexis Masbou         Aprilia      + 46.503s
17.  Alberto Moncayo       Aprilia      + 46.979s
18.  Marcel Schrotter      Honda        + 59.626s
19.  Jakub Kornfeil        Aprilia      + 59.770s
20.  Sturla Fagerhaug      Aprilia    + 1m04.405s
21.  Louis Rossi           Aprilia    + 1m05.731s
22.  Michael van der Mark  Lambretta  + 1m28.928s
23.  Kevin Szalai          Honda      + 1m47.143s
24.  Gregory di Carlo      Honda          + 1 lap
25.  Muhammad Zulfahmi     Aprilia        + 1 lap
26.  Morgan Berchet        Honda          + 1 lap


     Marco Ravaioli        Lambretta  18 laps
     Riccardo Moretti      Aprilia    16 laps
     Lorenzo Savadori      Aprilia    6 laps
  More news  
Read the AUTOSPORT Digital Edition
Visit the shop
See highlights from 60 years of AUTOSPORT
Full MotoGP coverage on
Read Toby Moody's latest 'Out of the box' column
Breaking news feed
Live commentary feed
Terol takes first 125cc pole